Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

DOA Mobo or Fried CPU

This is a discussion on DOA Mobo or Fried CPU within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Finally time to ask the question I've been absolutely dreading.. While building a new computer, conflicting instructions and a little


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2008, 10:13 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Finally time to ask the question I've been absolutely dreading..

While building a new computer, conflicting instructions and a little lack of common sense made me put the CPU in backwards (which was the way the motherboard manual said). After turning it on and finding that nothing really happened except for the power coming on, I turned it off and -then- realized I had put it in backwards. After putting it in the right way, everything spins up and the front panel lights come on, but the motherboard refuses to get past POST, or show anything on the screen.

All I get is a short, one-second beep that repeats endlessly. I haven't been able to find if it's one of the Award BIOS beepcodes, and I'm sure it's not a problem with the RAM- since it beeps the same with a good stick from another computer.

So.. did I fry the CPU, motherboard, or is it something less horrible?
Tokeli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2008, 12:26 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Try setting it up outside the case with 1 stick of ram video card and cpu only see if it will post> https://www.techsupportforum.com/f255...em-171424.html
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:02 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Just set it up outside of the case, and it does the exact same thing. Tried clearing the CMOS as well, and everything's plugged in right..
Tokeli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2008, 01:11 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



What motherboard and cpu do you have?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:20 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



AMD Sempron 3300+, ECS GF6100-M754, and Corsair 1GB DDR RAM.
Tokeli is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:42 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Just to review you have the 24 pin power connector and the 4 pin cpu plugged in?
Are you sure you now have the cpu in correctly?
Did you check for bent/broken pins on the cpu?
The CPU is a socket 754?
https://www.nforcershq.com/processor-...videos-amdcom/
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:45 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



24pin and the CPU power are both in right, CPU's definitely in right this time (and this is the last time I follow the instructions in a manual), and amazingly there aren't any bent pins on it, and it's for 754. Since I got it as part of a barebones kit, along with the motherboard.
Tokeli is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:57 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Then I would say RMA them.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 03:08 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Think I should RMA both the mobo and CPU? And thank you for your help!
Tokeli is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 03:15 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



If it's a combo I would.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 05:20 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



Back they both go, then. Thank you!
Tokeli is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts