Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

(Different) Computer turned on but no screen

This is a discussion on (Different) Computer turned on but no screen within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have repairing the Pentium 4 PC because it can't turned on (due it no longer used in 2 year),


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2012, 03:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



I have repairing the Pentium 4 PC because it can't turned on (due it no longer used in 2 year), when I repair this PC, it was unsuccessfully turned on normally because monitor still blank.
Here the specification:
- ASRock G Pro (SiS 650)
- Intel Pentium 4 2.4 GHz Northwood
- 256 MB DDR RAM
- Intergerated graphic
- 10.2 GB Hard Drive (Quantum Fireball)
- ASUS CD-ROM
- 3 1/2 Floppy Drive

What's the problem on these ASRock mobo? It doesn't have buzzer/speaker for POST beep.
frenzyvanrafi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2012, 11:31 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Perform the following steps:
-Remove the power from the system and open the case
-Remove the graphics card from the PC (if equipped)
-Clear the CMOS settings (removing the battery from the motherboard for a few minutes will suffice)
-Attempt to boot the PC using the integrated graphics

If unsuccessful continue:
-Remove all RAM and test with one stick at a time
-Remove any PCI card installed (modem,nic,sound,etc)
-Disconnect drives (storage and optical)
-Inspect motherboard for damaged capacitors
-Test with another PSU

You can get a motherboard speaker and connect to the speaker pins.

Test/Replace the CMOS battery.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 03:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
Perform the following steps:
-Remove the power from the system and open the case
-Remove the graphics card from the PC (if equipped)
-Clear the CMOS settings (removing the battery from the motherboard for a few minutes will suffice)
-Attempt to boot the PC using the integrated graphics

If unsuccessful continue:
-Remove all RAM and test with one stick at a time
-Remove any PCI card installed (modem,nic,sound,etc)
-Disconnect drives (storage and optical)
-Inspect motherboard for damaged capacitors
-Test with another PSU

You can get a motherboard speaker and connect to the speaker pins.

Test/Replace the CMOS battery.
I think the processor was damaged, so I need replacing it. And all capacitor on ASRock G Pro was fine. If the PC is left for over 3 years, what impact on the motherboard?
frenzyvanrafi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2012, 04:04 AM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Shoudn't be any problem if the PC was properly stored except for a dead CMOS battery.

Does the CPU appear to have any physical damage to the pins.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 02:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



I think the CPU was degraded due it no longer used, but all pins are okay. But I don't know about battery, is battery are dead or not?
frenzyvanrafi is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 06:18 AM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



CPU's are pretty bullet proof and sitting unused should not have any ill effects on it.
The Mobo would be a more likely suspect.
Did you attempt to boot with no RAM installed and listen for any beeps from the Mobo speaker?



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 10:09 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
CPU's are pretty bullet proof and sitting unused should not have any ill effects on it.
The Mobo would be a more likely suspect.
Did you attempt to boot with no RAM installed and listen for any beeps from the Mobo speaker?
I don't know, but maybe I installing the speaker with mistake so I can't heard the beep

BONUS: My friend picking CPU but it's accidentally fallen off, it's should make CPU damaged? You just say CPU are bulletproof like Kevlar...
frenzyvanrafi is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:25 AM   #8
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



CPU's are pretty bullet proof bot not literally.
Does the Mobo have a speaker?
Please explain "My friend picking CPU but it's accidentally fallen off". Thoroughly check the CPU for any net pins.



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:37 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
CPU's are pretty bullet proof bot not literally.
Does the Mobo have a speaker?
Please explain "My friend picking CPU but it's accidentally fallen off". Thoroughly check the CPU for any net pins.
There's no built-in buzzer, but I install it from my PC. But don't reply me until I reply it. Because I need test it.
frenzyvanrafi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP netbook connected to router, but can't ping it
Hi all, I've got a netbook (Acer Aspire One) with XP SP3 on it. It connects to my wireless network (so it says), but it won't get onto the internet. I can ping 127.0.0.1, but it won't ping my router. When I do ipconfig /release > ipconfig /flushdns > ipconfig /renew, it hangs up on the renew...
theupgradeguy Networking Support 20 07-11-2013 09:47 AM
No startup
hello everybody, i'm back with a question about my laptop but now its the other one. When i use my laptop everything goes fine. But when i shut'm down and try to start it up again he doesnt start up. This happens when it needs power. The lights down on the laptop are burning but when i press...
IanHanssens Laptop Support 38 02-18-2012 01:17 AM
External hard drive to be able to play them on my HD tv
I'm looking to integrate the movies I have on an external hard drive to be able to play them on my HD tv. I have a Western digital 500 GB hard drive, and a Vizio 42 LCD tv. I was considering buying a DVD player with a USB port or a DVD recorder with a firewire port to play them that way. Will...
newbeeee Home Theater 2 02-17-2012 02:31 PM
[SOLVED] Problem running shogun with HD RADEON 6770 on 24inch samsung new hd monitor
Hey guys recently installed HD Radeon 6770, and a new monitor samsung 24inch with 1920 x 1080 res.. i ran shogun in full graphics with 1920 x 1080 res....it worked fine ran smooth , looked great... and now it doesnt it stutters and doesnt run well at all.. I think when i reset bios to...
Reece12sky PC Gaming Support 5 02-16-2012 09:37 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts