Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

CPU that runs cool?

This is a discussion on CPU that runs cool? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Is there any Non-wireless (desktop) CPU that runs cool (like the Fit PC-2) yet can accommodate Win7 or even Win-10?


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By satrow
  • 1 Post By satrow
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2018, 11:34 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


Is there any Non-wireless (desktop) CPU that runs cool (like the Fit PC-2) yet can accommodate Win7 or even Win-10?

I'm electrosensitive, with neuropathy, venous insufficiency, spinal-osteoarthritis etc. and get all tingly from overwhelming electronics, such as for example huge-bright-glossy screens.

So anything not overwhelming in both these categories might suit me.
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2018, 05:37 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You could use something like this which is fanless and therefore pulls less power:

https://azulletech.com/product/byte-3/
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:19 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


Thanks for pointing it out! Have you noticed the review by "Sam" which stated:

Quote:
Here's the problem. Windows 10 Pro cannot operate on a 32GB drive. Let me repeat that WINDOWS 10 PRO CANNOT OPERATE ON A 32GB DRIVE! Anyone that tells you that it can is either foolishly optimistic or trying to sell you something. One Windows Update, one Windows Rollback, one security update, or one temp file, and your are shutdown. You'll spend insane amounts of time searching for any bit bloatware or unessential program to uninstall just to save a 100 MB, and that's out of the box before you install your software. The Byte3 should come with a 64GB drive at the bare minimum- even if it cost a bit more. Or Azulle should have dumped the VGA port or a few USB ports to make up the price difference.

The solution is to install an M.2 or SSD and clone the boot drive. It sounds simple on paper, and it should be a quick process, but for whatever reason, it was not for me. If you are an average PC user (clearly the target demographic), then stay away from this machine. If you are an advanced user that is comfortable installing hardware, cloning drives, and editing BIOS then, by all means,​ go for it.
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2018, 01:14 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


P.S. I'm not sure why he suggests dumping the VGA port, since if i'd switch to a CPU (from my current thinkpads), i'd probably be using it with an old 15" LG monitor that has a VGA port.
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 08:07 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


I have no clue what Sam is talking about. I own the Byte3. It came with a 64bit version of Windows 10 Professional.

I also find that the VGA port is needed.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-12-2018, 06:38 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Sam's referring to disk space issues when upgrading W10 to the latest Builds. There have been plenty of issues with machines of 32GB disks, even from users of MS' own non-Pro Surfaces. The usual workaround is to extend the capacity by adding a second drive, SDcard etc., depending on what ports the device has free.

32GB really isn't big enough to support a non-Cloud computer over the medium term.

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=windows+10...%2B32GB&ia=web
kendallt likes this.
__________________
satrow is online now  
Old 05-14-2018, 04:14 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


So which way are people supposed to go if they want a home computer (not mobile)?

Sounds like Win10 is a guzzler which a cooler system cannot accommodate?
and maybe that's why Win7 is so popular?
I had also been considering the toughbook CF30 which has Win7, but perhaps the latter is not powerful enough to enable watching streaming video's on YouTube?
Or is it? Does anyone truly know?
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Old 06-14-2018, 11:22 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Not sure what everyone is saying here as this says it has drives 2.5 SSD SATA up to 512 GB m.2 2280 SATA up to 320 GB available.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 06-14-2018, 03:48 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


See the latest 1* comment and reply on Amazon for the Byte-3:

Quote:
... wish I can get my money back and get a laptop with a big hard drive, one that can accommodate Windows 10 updates. Azulle should be ashamed for calling themselves "computer people" and all the youtube reviews should be pulled for false advertising for not mentioning this issue.

Not cool Azulle

Showing 1 comments

LR Azulle6 days ago
Hello Rich,

Thank you for reviewing our product, we are very sorry for the dissatisfaction that you have experienced. This is very important for us and we can assure that we are always working to improve ourselves and provide better hardware and services.

The Windows Update are a known issue from Microsoft and it has been reported by several brands, we have come up with some solutions for it. Please feel free to reach out to us, our technicians will provide you the best options.

However the Byte3 goes further and we are proud to mention that our unit allows to expand the internal storage by using a m2 SATA or a 2.5' SSD SATA and you can even transfer the OS to the bigger drive, making the SSD, the main one. It is pretty simple and we provide all the documentation for it. Again, please contact us directly, our Tech Support Team will be more than happy to assist you with this matter.
The base version's (8GB/32GB) marketing is borderline false, W10 will install but fully updating it will likely need secondary storage to be successful.
__________________
satrow is online now  
Old 06-25-2018, 03:17 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


If i'd get the above, could i somehow get Win7 installed on it?
A COA version - so that MSE could get updated with no issues?
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Old 06-25-2018, 10:07 PM   #11
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


You'd need a Retail Windows version and probably some finicky workarounds to get the install working over USB (I think the USB type isn't supported by the W7 discs) and to get the graphics drivers loaded - default W7 Updates will try to load a 'blocking' patch as well.
Minni likes this.
__________________
satrow is online now  
Old 07-09-2018, 11:09 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


Thanks for the info, satrow. So Byte3 isn't for me, then.
Perhaps HP mini?
or HP Compaq nc6400?
or Lenovo R60 or R61?

In other words, maybe i should go out on a limb and try dual-core, since they're low Ghz anyway...

The question is - would Win7 Home-Premium pose a problem?
Any other flies in the ointment? Very possibly intolerable outgassing epoxies, glossy screens, tiny text, defective speakers, and who knows what other shockers. I've never yet had non-shocks when buying such equipment, with the exception of these R52s, and an X31 i once had. Also T42 would have been good, had i not been scammed with its near-dead HDD.

Re: the outgassing i mentioned - understand - there's a huge difference between people like me, and many others. I once read that males, unlike many females, are protected by three factors:
ECW, certain hormones, and one other factor (I forget).
...I remember men coming to fix a clogged sewer in the basement. They were there for hours, and the stench had no impact on them.
I was unable to be there for even a minute, and needed to hold my hands over my face, in survival mode.
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Old 07-10-2018, 08:41 AM   #13
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

do you need Windows? How about Linux on a Raspberry PI?
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Old 07-11-2018, 12:13 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Minni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 565
OS: Win 7 Home premium

My System


My phone service is Magic Jack which doesn't work with Linux, only Windows. There might be other snags down the road too, you never know.

It just occurred to me to wonder whether it wouldn't work with Linux once it's initially set up via Windows. After all, the computer need not be turned on, to make or receive calls.
__________________
My most-recent updated System-Info is in My-Profile
Minni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overheating PCH diode
Hi, since 4 years I am the proud owner of an Alienware m17x r3. Recently I reformatted all my system and equipped my laptop with an SSD drive. Everything was great until little by little I started seeing random 20-40 sec lags in video games and then it would go back to normal. This event used to...
krolike Laptop Support 0 09-30-2014 11:41 AM
BSOD Problem
Hi , Im getting this BSOD from few months. Pls help. 1. Windows 7 Ultimate 2. x86 3. Windows 7 Home 4. not OEM 5. 2 years 6 2 years Sony Vaio VPCEA1S1E
Bonehard BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 10-01-2012 12:08 PM
BSOD various file errors.
Hi, I've had some bsod's for a while and i can't figure out how to solve them, I tried hardware testers and the the CPU, GPU , memory and disk passed without errors, i also tried BSOD Viewer and i saw so many different erros but with one common file in all of them, ntoskrl.exe. So I suspect this is...
Tonicas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 17 03-09-2012 02:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts