Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

CPU temp questions

This is a discussion on CPU temp questions within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently bought an ASUS 1703, with an AMD 1065T processor. When I first start out, the ASUS utility says


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2011, 09:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26
OS: Win 7 Home Prem 64



I recently bought an ASUS 1703, with an AMD 1065T processor. When I first start out, the ASUS utility says my CPU temp is at 57 C. Coretemp is showing 41 C. I am using the stock fan that came with it. I will probably get the Antec Kohler liquid cooling system for this; since I had good luck with it on my last build.

What I would like to know is what temp utility to trust, and at what temp should I be getting real concerned with for this CPU? ASUS utility is set from the factory to warn if it goes over 77 C; though that is not the highest temp that can be set. Coretemp seems to think 99 C is the highest before it throttles back; which means that according to Coretemp, 79 C should be the warning temp. At least those 2 are close together.
jcleaver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-04-2011, 09:58 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


What does BIOS report the temp as?
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 06:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26
OS: Win 7 Home Prem 64



The BIOS shows the same as the ASUS utility; which I would expect as it is an ASUS MB. I would assume that ASUS would write their BIOS utility to read their own BIOS.

I am trying to figure out why the 2 are so far apart; and at what point should I be worried.
jcleaver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2011, 06:49 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The Bios is commonly the most reliable source for Temp & Voltage readings so I would be inclined to trust it.
*ASUS 1703* is a Bios version. What is the model Number of the Mobo?



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 07:23 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26
OS: Win 7 Home Prem 64



Sorry, I transposed the number. The full name is ASUS Essentio 1730-05.

The 1730-05 is a model that ASUS makes for Best Buy. I replaced the 300 W PS with a CoolerMaster 1000W PS that I had, and put in a NVdia 250 GTS video card.

I'm still trying to find the temp range of the 1065T processor though. i guess no one knows.
jcleaver is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 07:47 AM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Quote:
I'm still trying to find the temp range of the 1065T processor
62C max

CoreTemp seems fine with Intel based systems, but I've yet to find an AMD system on which it displays accurately.

AMD Phenom II X6 1065T - HDT65TWFK6DGR (HDT65TWFGRBOX)
gcavan is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 07:54 AM   #7
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


That is too high of a temp for that processor. Make sure it's fastened down and latched correctly. There should be very minimal play if fastened correctly. Did you add thermal compund when you mounted the heatsink? I ask because Amd heatsinks come pre-applied allready.
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 08:06 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26
OS: Win 7 Home Prem 64



OK, no I didn't remove anything. This was a built PC from a store. I did not build it. I had read the figure of 62 C max; however, when I saw the BIOS warning threshold set to 77 C, I thought maybe this chip was different. I figured the manufacturer would set it on the conservative side. Apparently not.

I did check the play in the CPU fan, and there wasn't any I could tell. It seemed solid.

I am going to be replacing it with the Antec Kohler cooling system when I can; but that won't be for a couple of weeks yet.
jcleaver is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 08:13 AM   #9
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


The BIOS temp warning is set as a failsafe to warn you when a excessive temp is reached. Is there a fan control setting in your BIOS? If there is set it to max or performance.
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 09-05-2011, 09:22 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26
OS: Win 7 Home Prem 64



Yes, that is why I had my question concerning the 62 C temp mentioned earlier. The BIOS failsafe warning is set to 77 C as the default. Although 62 C may be the best to try to keep under, am i going to burn up my CPU if it goes above 62 C? It has never reached 77 C, but it has come close a couple of times.
jcleaver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MB starts boot only with 4 -pin CPU plug removed
A system I built and which has been running for a few months has suddenly decided it wants to run no more. The symptoms are that the board LED comes on, the CPU fan runs, slowly, but case fans don't and the HD never spins up. I have tried a number of things recommended here and will do the bench...
CREnvy Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 20 04-10-2011 02:10 PM
CPU temp to hot?
Ok so i was checking my cpu information with speed fan and it said the following: Temp 1: 91F Temp 2: 102F Temp 3: -71F core 0: 102F Core 1: 97F Is that bad? and if so any suggestions to lowering the temperatures?
Jmvboy Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 03-04-2011 08:08 PM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Couple questions about CPU & Motherboard
Okay, so I'm thinking about upgrading my ram, and my CPU, but I'm a little confused and I was wondering If you guys would lend a hand to help me out. This is my motherboard Currently, I have an Intel Core 2 Duo 3.00GHz I'm wanting to upgrade to this My question is, will that motherboard...
Porschy Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 20 01-13-2011 07:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts