Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

CPU running on 100 degrees idle!

This is a discussion on CPU running on 100 degrees idle! within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi! So yesterday when I was playing a game, my computer started lagging like crazy. I turned of the game


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2018, 09:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
OS:



Hi!
So yesterday when I was playing a game, my computer started lagging like crazy.
I turned of the game and noticed my CPU was running on 100% on all my 4 cores.
I scanned for virus and malware but none were found.
So i turned my computer of for a while to let it cool down.
When i turned it back on, it was still running on 100% and 100 degrees even in idle and in bios.
It was still lagging even on desktop.
I tried formating the computer.
I monitored my computer using CPU-Z and HWMonitor.
I stress tested my computer with prime95 and it didn't crash.
I have not received any graphical artifacts.
I cleaned my computer with compressed air and changed the thermal paste on my water cooling system.
The box was not hot, but one of the tubings were really hot.
All the fans are running and cold.
I have not recieved a bluescreen or having the CPU directly dying.

I honestly have no idea what's wrong.
Anyone else that know anything else i can try?

I have a:
Intel Core i7-4770k CPU @ 3.5GHz
Corsair h100i v1
Nvidia GTX 970 4GB
thecarrera is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2018, 02:10 PM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,315
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Quote:
I cleaned my computer with compressed air and changed the thermal paste on my water cooling system.
The box was not hot, but one of the tubings were really hot.
Sounds like to me you have a pump failure. What AIO do you have? Are you using the AIO software?
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-01-2018, 11:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
OS:


Quote:
Sounds like to me you have a pump failure. What AIO do you have? Are you using the AIO software?
Im using this one:
Hydro Series? H100i Extreme Performance CPU Cooler
I have not used a AIO software yet, only seen the fan speed in MSI bios.

Can you change the pump manually?
It's my first water cooler and I've read that you should never change the water yourself.
Same should apply to the pumps, right?
thecarrera is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2018, 04:32 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,315
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Your link is broken.....service unavailable. What is the brand/make/model of AIO?
Does your mobo have 2 CPU fan ports? You need 2 for the AIO....1 for the fan(s) and 1 for the pump. Did you remove the plastic cover on the bottom of the cpu water block?

Quote:
Can you change the pump manually?
No...as it will void the warranty.

Quote:
I have not used a AIO software yet
You're supposed to, to set the pump and fans up.

Quote:
I've read that you should never change the water yourself.
Correct....once you break the seal you void the warranty.

If you just purchased this....I would do a RMA on it as it is still under warranty. In the meantime install an air cooler on the CPU until you get a new AIO.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 10:14 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
OS:


Quote:
Your link is broken.....service unavailable. What is the brand/make/model of AIO?
Does your mobo have 2 CPU fan ports? You need 2 for the AIO....1 for the fan(s) and 1 for the pump. Did you remove the plastic cover on the bottom of the cpu water block?
Huh, strange, the link is still working for me.
Anyway, it's a:

Corsair hydro H100i v1

It does have 2 fan ports and i did not remove the plastic cover on the bottom of the water block.

Quote:
You're supposed to, to set the pump and fans up.
Ooh I see, I did not know that.
I bought mine at the store and had it assembled since I received 2 years extra warranty.
All i recieved was the graphic card drivers disk.

Quote:
If you just purchased this....I would do a RMA on it as it is still under warranty. In the meantime install an air cooler on the CPU until you get a new AIO.
I bought it about 5 years ago, the warranty has already expired unless there is one from the company specifically.
thecarrera is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 12:02 PM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,315
OS: Windows 10 Pro



These is what I see when I click on your link.
Click image for larger version

Name:	link.PNG
Views:	15
Size:	18.7 KB
ID:	319000

Like I said...I would pull that AIO off and put an air cooler on, just temporary. Otherwise you risk damaging the CPU. Then figure out if your AIO can be fixed. If not get a new one.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 01:14 PM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,019
OS: windows 10

My System


these is what I see when I click on your link.
Attachment 319000





you have to take the s off https in link thay are working on a fix for that
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 07:03 PM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,315
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by oscer1 View Post
these is what I see when I click on your link.
Attachment 319000





you have to take the s off https in link thay are working on a fix for that
Thanks.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 03-05-2018, 02:29 AM   #9
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Before you mess with the hardware components, can you open Task manager, choose Show Processes from all users, sort in descending by CPU and give us a screenshot ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major issues with external hard drive!
I've owned a Toshiba External USB 3.0, which essentially has "my life" (work/personal photos/files) on it, for roughly a year. Suddenly, beginning the other day, none of my computers will detect the drive, including when using a different cord. Please help! The Device Manager detects the drive;...
PCPatrick Hard Drive Support 17 01-13-2018 10:04 AM
[SOLVED] PC Won't Boot After Cleaning
Hello all. I have a problem with my Windows 10 PC. Please bare with me with my long explanation. Please read and help. Every three months I open it up to clean it out with a can of compressed air. Today I did this and also replaced the optical drive as it had been acting up for a while where I...
Techie19 Windows 10 Support 38 12-07-2016 02:31 AM
Diagnostics policy service won't start
I can access wifi with all devices except my laptop. Problem started first thing this morning. I have run virus scans, reboot router and computer, also tried instructions that were given in another post on this site a to no avail. When I click start the service it says error 5 access denied. This...
kmarion Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 48 02-16-2014 04:27 PM
Windows Installer
Hi, I have tried multiple times to download the windows installer from the MS site. It keeps saying that it is not the correct windows installer for my system. It is Vista Home edition Service Pak 2. Any ideas?
Frank0307 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 6 05-26-2012 04:24 PM
Slower comp and unknown virus emails sent
Lately my computer has been running slower than usual and I have been told my computer has been sending out emails to all my contacts with suspicious links/attachments. If someone could help with this problem, I'd greatly appreciate it! P.S. USADisk is an Asian program that I know and use -- just...
mousemk Inactive Malware Help Topics 14 09-20-2011 04:56 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts