User Tag List

cpu power

This is a discussion on cpu power within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello My friend got my old laptop and want to change the cpu. There a AMD- E-300 apu with Radeon,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2019, 11:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
OS: Win7



Hello


My friend got my old laptop and want to change the cpu. There a AMD- E-300 apu with Radeon, 1300 Mhz


Compaq web site is complicated to find simple info and on the net I can't find that info.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	compaq presario.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	323400  
Mr.Fox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2019, 11:23 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,009
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Are they looking to upgrade or just replace the CPU?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-16-2019, 11:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 71
OS: Win7



upgrade it.
Mr.Fox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2019, 01:13 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,009
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If it's soldered to the MOBO, it's a no go.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-16-2019, 01:50 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,007
OS: Win7



I've never seen one not soldered to the motherboard.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-16-2019, 02:00 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,009
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


A few are socketed and have like a release clip. Then Intel CPU removal/replacement tool can extract it. There are folks who have replaced soldered ones but it's risky.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-17-2019, 12:08 AM   #7
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 214
OS:

My System


It's a bit risky but easy if you're actually a good technician. I replaced one on a Presario CQ56 which is basically the same was easy for me. Yes it can be done but be very sure, that when it's done that the one doing it has done it before, and knows what he/she is doing -- seriously. The seriously part is seriously important
SpareChange is offline  
Old 04-17-2019, 07:16 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Wow I did not know that can be done but I guess it makes sense that whatever is done can be undone by someone who really knows what they are doing.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezing/Stuttering while playing Diablo 3.
Hi, after 2 days of trying to fix this myself and doing all the research I could, I haven't found a fix, so I'm finally making a topic. Description of problem: During gameplay anywhere from every 3-30 seconds my screen will freeze for 0.5-3.0 seconds. These freezes are noticeably worse when...
HBDomo PC Gaming Support 9 09-05-2015 09:41 AM
CPU Fan Loud
I'm sorry if this is not the right place, but I have no idea where to put this. So, I've had this computer for about 2 years now, and recently the computer has been making some loud noises. Starting yesterday, the computer's been making very worrying buzzing noises. Through a variety of...
orionstar Overclocking 13 03-15-2011 05:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts