Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

CPU OVERHEAT when watching video/movie

This is a discussion on CPU OVERHEAT when watching video/movie within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My cpu over heat when watcing video or movie it goes from 35-39c to 51c and start runing real slow


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2007, 02:47 PM   #1
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



My cpu over heat when watcing video or movie it goes from 35-39c to 51c and start runing real slow and loud.
tpw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2007, 02:52 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


What CPU do you have? 51C is not really that hot for a system under load.
How are you measuring it? The loudness is probably from the CPU fan just doing it's job. What is running slow, the video?
Lead3 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:51 PM   #3
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



when i trying click on the different thing like my document search threw my video and stuff it like my computer freezes.
tpw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2007, 03:57 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 2,971
OS: Win XP

My System


Like Lead3 has said, What type of CPU do you have? Also - What type of Power supply?
HawMan is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 04:05 PM   #5
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



here my specs of my computer

Windows: Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 2
Internet Explorer: 6.0.2900.2180
Memory (RAM): 511 MB
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
CPU Speed: 2990.9 MHz
Sound card: C-Media Wave Device
Display Adapters: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 | NetMeeting driver | RDPDD Chained DD
Screen Resolution: 1024 X 768 - 16 bit
:
Network Adapters: ADMtek ADM8511 USB To Fast Ethernet Converter - Packet Scheduler Miniport | Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport
CD / DVD Drives: D: TEAC DW-552G
:
COM Ports: COM1
LPT Ports: LPT1
Mouse: 5 Button Wheel Mouse Present
Hard Disks: C: 74.5GB
Hard Disks - Free: C: 7.8GB
USB Controllers: 5 host controllers.
Firewire (1394): Not Detected
:
Manufacturer: American Megatrends Inc.
Product Make: P4IPE
:
AC Power Status: OnLine
BIOS Info: ATAT COMPATIBLE 091004 A M I 9000410
Time Zone: Eastern Standard Time
Battery: No Battery
Motherboard: soyocomputer P4IPE
Modem: Not detected
tpw is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 10:24 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 7,329
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


What is your power supplie it can be found inside your case behind were you plug the computer in write whats on the sticer here.
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:35 AM   #7
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



it just say power i have custom case.
tpw is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:38 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 2,971
OS: Win XP

My System


Is there a sticker on the side of the power supply - Something like this.


HawMan is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:44 AM   #9
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



i dont see none
tpw is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:29 PM   #10
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



do i need to open my computer case for this
tpw is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:34 PM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



look on the other side of the case,you may need to drop the power supply it may be on top of the supply
why are you not running this in 32bit
Screen Resolution: 1024 X 768 - 16 bit
your h/drive is verging on overfull



dai is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:42 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,641
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpw View Post
do i need to open my computer case for this
Yes you need to open your case to check the sticker that's on the PSU.
justpassingby is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:05 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

You can also try enabling hardware acceleration when watching DVDs. What player are you using?
ebackhus is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:03 PM   #14
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



window media player
tpw is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:20 PM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

If you're using WMP you can tell it to use hardware acceleration...

Under Options click the Performance tab and make sure the slider is at full acceleration. (this is using WMP 9 here at work so WMP 10 and 11 will be different. Hit me up on AIM around 8pm CDT or so and I can help you with WMP 11 instructions.)
ebackhus is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 06:24 PM   #16
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



i found my battery supply battery supply model will - b350atx
tpw is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 07:02 PM   #17
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



i just notic some thing it dont really go up when watching video so much when i i am on the net search and checking email than go to my document folder it start going up than when i try to watch a video it run real real real slow,
tpw is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:43 PM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



that's ecause playing the video puts pressure on the system
redo the paste on the cpu with some arctic silver and blow any dust out with a can of air
https://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm
what brand is the power supply it is on the light side for a p4 put your specs into here
https://www.extreme.outervision.com/p...ulatorlite.jsp
based on a quality supply and add 30% to the end result



dai is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:52 PM   #19
tpw
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 165
OS: window xp



by chance could i have virus
tpw is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 12:17 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,641
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


The virus thing is not likely. It sounds more like some hardware problem, heat or PSU.

Is that the same computer that was completely cloged up with dust a while ago ? Had you redone the thermal paste after cleaning the dust as dai had suggested back then ?
justpassingby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Problems
ive really messed up my audio drivers and now the only way i seem to be able to get sound on my computer is through ac'97 which sounds far worse than what was on before (i dont know what this was), and games like half life 2 simply fail to load because the sound is rubbish. here is the latest...
pgtipsp Windows XP Support 2 07-25-2007 02:09 PM
2 HDD & now I want 1
I had one WD 80GB IDE HD installed for quite awhile. As you know, it isn't big enough anymore. I bought a Seagate 300GB SATA drive, but kept getting contant reboots while accessing the the new drive. After going through tech support at Seagate, I was told to take the drive back to the store. I...
whammo Hard Drive Support 7 11-05-2006 02:40 PM
Need Intel cpu advice?
My desktop/workstation is a 4 yr old W/ Intel dual zeon's P4 2 gigers and wondered if this is going to meet my needs after Vista arrives with the 64 bit technology.?? CPU information below: =========================== CPU Properties CPU Type Dual Intel Xeon, 1977 MHz (20 x 99) CPU...
ossa Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 04-19-2006 03:02 AM
mis-matching CPU - Mobo FSB?
Im in the procses of buying a new mobo, case, and vid. card. I have/had a Dell 2400, and Im not sure of the socket the CPU is. Im almost certian its a 478, becuase I know its not a socket T (the pins are on the CPU), so If anyone is a Dell smarty and would know, Thx! Also, problem #2 is if it...
Maxxs Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 5 07-07-2005 07:48 PM
Damaged Mobo or CPU ?
My system: AMD 64 3200 Nvidia 6800 PC2100 512MB RAM 40GB HDD Gigabyte K8t800M New 550 Antec TruePower PS Yesterday I received new power supply and a new cpu fan with heatsink
VISTREL Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 10-20-2004 07:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts