Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

CPU overheat causing graphical issues?

This is a discussion on CPU overheat causing graphical issues? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. I've got a problem, wich I think may be related to my CPU. Yesterday, while playing The lord of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2011, 06:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



Hi.

I've got a problem, wich I think may be related to my CPU.

Yesterday, while playing The lord of the rings online, this happened: https://i.imgur.com/BaeON.jpg

Normally, I thought it was my graphics card causing the problem. Checked the temperature with speedfan, and it was sitting steady around 55 celsius (idling at 40). Tested a known good graphics card, same problem. Updated Nvidia drivers for both cards, still the same problem. Tried some older archived drivers, no change.

Friend told me that maybe it was the PSU that didn't put out enough power to the cards. Doubted that, since I recently bough a new one (700w Corsair one). Tested a new PSU just to be sure, but that wasen't the problem either.

Also tested my RAM, and other RAM from a friends computer that works.

The only thing that I noticed is that the CPU temperature gets high, it's idling around 40 celsius, but ingame, it was over 65 celsius, 69 was the highest I saw it go. My cpu fan was sitting at the same speed all the time tho, not going up or down. I can't change the speed of the fans with fanspeed since it doesn't support my mobo, only have it to keep track of temperature and the speed of the fans.

the cpu fan wont go faster then 3068 rpm, I know I had it spinning at 4800+ rpm before.

Went into BIOS, where I knew there was 2 configurations controlling fan speed. Q-fan smart and Cool n Quiet. Enabling both just lowered the fan speed and the cpu got even hotter, tried with one enabled and the other disabled, but running both disabled proved to give the highest fan speed. After enabling and disabling them a few times and several restarts later, the fan speed went up to 3200ish rpm, but still not higher, or lower.

Is there any possibility that cpu overheating can cause graphical issues?

I would like to increase my cpu fan speed anyway, noise from fans doesn't bother me since I'd rather have my computer as cool as possible, but I can't seem to increase the fan in anyway.

Anyone got any idea what to do?

Worth to mention should be that it occurs instantly in The lord of the rings online, and randomly or even not at all in other games. It started after I installed lord of the rings, but can a game cause this? I've contacted the support for the game (Turbine) but they doubt it's the game causing it, but they would try to help me anyway.

Would be thankful for any help or tips I can get.

Thanks in advance <3
Gregrer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2011, 06:39 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


Hi Gregrer-

Yes I would agree that the PSU is not likely to be the issue. It's not a bad guess on your friend's part, but the two things we look for don't seem to be the issue in your case, which would be wattage and PSU quality. 700W is a pretty decent power output and Corsair is a high quality brand.

Also the fact that it doesn't happen in any other game rules out your graphics card (it would be persistent). Your CPU getting that hot is definitely an issue whether it's causing this graphics display or not. You need to check your CPU:

-Is thermal paste on it?

-If so, is the thermal paste wet or dry?

-Is there any clearance between the CPU and the heat sink assembly, because there shouldn't be

-What type of CPU are we talking about here?

-Try investing in a better cooling system if your fan/heat sink is stock

It certainly looks and sounds like overheating to me.
__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline  
Old 06-02-2011, 06:49 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



Thanks for the quick reply!

I will check the things you said tomorrow when I wake up.

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3.00Ghz

"Also the fact that it doesn't happen in any other game rules out your graphics card"

It did happen, but only for a few seconds in League of Legends. Also copied Age of Conan(wich was the most demanding game we had acces to at this moment) from my friend, running it on max settings with no graphic issues occuring for for whole 20 min I tested it.

EDIT: Did a system restore also, since it all occured after I installed Lotro. No idea if it will change anything, will see tomorrow.

Thank you for helping!
Gregrer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


No problem.

I saw you mentioned it happened rarely/infrequently with other games. This might be consistent with overheating if those other games are less system intensive than LOTR.

An Athlon 2x is certainly capable of being powered by a 700W Corsair. So yeah, I think power is not your problem.

Just to be sure, are there graphics settings you can mess with in the game or on your graphics card program? Not likely to help, but it's worth looking into.
__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 10:09 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



Applied new thermal paste, no heat decrease. Bought a new fan for the cpu, no change.

The rpm is still stuck at 3068, it refuses to change. I can't control it through BIOS either it seems, or maybe I don't know how to do.

Making me believe that there is some settings I need to change, but don't know wich ones.
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 10:19 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

did you apply the paste correctly,to much is as bad as none

Arctic Silver Incorporated - Route to Product Instructions for Arctic Silver 5



dai is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 12:00 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



Nvidia gforce 9800GTX
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3.00Ghz
2 GB RAM
ASUS M2V-MX SE
Corsair GS 700W PSU

CPU TEMPERATURE 57 celcius
MB TEMPERATURE 46 celcius
CPU FAN SPEED 3068RPM
VCORE VOLTAGE 1.4V
3.3V 3.312V
5V 5.068V
12V 11.712V
Got these readings after letting it sit for 15 minutes.

Applied the thermal paste as I've always done, paper thin layer.
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 12:46 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



11.712 on the 12v is a little low for a bios reading, the GS and CX Corsair models are not recommended the TX, HX, AX are much better models.

The CPU is too warm, redo the thermal paste too much is as bad as too little paste.
Arctic Silver Incorporated - Route to Product Instructions for Arctic Silver 5
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:52 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



I've reapplied the thermal paste, still no change in heat. The fan speed is still locked at 3068, any idea how I can get it to run faster?

Also, played the new game Hunted, the demon's forge yesterday with a friend for about 4 hours, not even a single graphical glitch, no nothing. Yet I still get it in league of legends, wich is far from as demanding as Hunted is.

This is all making me confused. I get the errors in the games that's less demanding it seems like :S
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 02:16 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



3000 is about full speed for the fan.
Is the top of the CPU and bottom of the heat sink flat and not nicked or dented?


What does HW Monitor show for the 12v reading in windows?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:01 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



The fan has been running at 4800+ before. The top of the CPU and the bottom of the heat sink is flat.

CPU VCORE
+12V

Value
12.29

Min
12.22

Max
12.35
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:05 PM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



That's better for a 12v reading.

Is this a retail motherboard or OEM?
If it's retail you can set the fan speed to 100% in the Bios.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:10 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



Not sure what OEM is, but I bought at a comp store, so I guess it's retail.

But since I can't find any option to put my fan to 100% in BIOS I'm not sure :/
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:17 PM   #14
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



What brand and model motherboard?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:21 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



ASUS M2V-MX SE

Went into BIOS to look for anything related to the CPU fan:
Cool n Quiet
Smart Q-FAN function
BIOS shows the fan running at 3214 RPM, while now in windows, it's back to 3068.
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:31 PM   #16
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



Set Smart Q fan to enabled and Save and Reboot back into the bios, you should then have the Auto Fan mode entry below the q fan setting set the full speed temp to 50c the start speed temp to the lowest allowed or 20c.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:44 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



CPU temp 60 celsius (non idle, launched a program to get it up), fan speed 2961 rpm.

With smart q fan enabled, full speed 51 (lowest allowed) and start speed temp set to 25 (lowest allowed)
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:52 PM   #18
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



Did you try overclocking or changing any voltage settings in the bios?

Is the heatsink the correct one for the CPU?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 04:57 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
OS: XP



Haven't overclocked anything, never tried since I don't know how to do it, and therefor I left it at that. Haven't changed any voltage settings that I know of.

Haven't switched the heat sink since I bought the computer, so I am assuming it's the right one.
Gregrer is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 05:16 PM   #20
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


Seeing as your not overclocking you can set your cpu vcore to 1.35v. It is now set at 1.4v. That will lower the temp alittle. The thermal limit for your cpu is 70c. Those 90nm Windsor core Athon X2's were known to run on the warm side.
__________________
https://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Laptop power and cpu issues.
Hello, I've recently been getting a warning during boot up saying that unknown AC adapter is plugged into the computer (this is off the top of my head, I can look it up if need be). It is the same cord I have used since I bought the laptop (3.5 years ago). Now the battery is no longer charging at...
Krouger Laptop Support 10 01-23-2011 09:02 PM
Plug and Play Causing 100% CPU
Last week I was struck with a problem causing my PC to run at 100% CPU. Services.exe runs up all the processing space Through the week I have found that when turning on Plug and Play through mscofig will cause this to happen and when I have it off it does not effect my PC but i am unable to...
logicalman Resolved HJT Threads 1 01-13-2011 11:02 PM
CPU Overheating Issues
Hey all, Lately I have had some issues with my computer shutting off, followed by a "CPU Overheating Error" in the BIOS. I downloaded CoreTemp to see where my temperatures are, and was surprised to see just how hot everything is running at idle. According to CoreTemp, each of my cores is running...
Hockeywarrior Other Hardware Support 1 12-31-2010 09:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts