Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

CPU frequencies, PC restarting

This is a discussion on CPU frequencies, PC restarting within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Yesterday, I built my first pc, I got it working, installed all the drivers that were needed. I did the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2012, 03:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Yesterday, I built my first pc, I got it working, installed all the drivers that were needed. I did the system rating from the properties of my competer. The CPU fan was making really loud noise and when it was almost at the end, then the PC shut down. So I started it again and downloaded AMD Overdrive, and from there I checked my CPU temps. they were normal, about 30-40, but I noticed that the frequencies were jumping up and down, at one point they were at 1400 mhz and then the other point they were at 4000 mhz (my CPU is AMD FX 8150 3,6 Ghz), which is really odd. When gaming then the cpu temps were 50-60 but the fan was making really loud noises again (I have the stock cpu cooler). And then it restarted again, when i quit the game and was installing programs, and later when just browsing web, it restarted again. But the other weird thing is that dxdiag and CPU-Z were only telling that my graphics card is AMD Radeon HD 6900 series (I have CLUB3D Radeon HD 6950), no more information and AMD Catalyst Control Center showed that the GPU's power usage is 0% which is also odd. In few days I will get my PC to someone who knows more about computers than I do, but I'm just thinking maybe there's a simple fix to my issue.

System specs:

CPU: AMD FX 8150 3,6 Ghz (stock cooler)
GPU: CLUB3D Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 Coolstream Edition
RAM: Kingston 2x4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
MB: GIGABYTE 970a-D3T
PSU: Chieftec CFT-600-14CS (600w)
HDD: Hitatchi 1TB SATA3 7200rpm
Chassis: Thermaltake Commander MS-I (1 rear outtake ventilator)
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Primary suspect would be the very poor quality underpowered Chieftec PSU.
You need to be at 650W with a good quality PSU.
SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (not the CX-GS-M Series).



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 10:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Would a bad PSU cause CPU frequencies jump up and down? And I don't know if it makes any difference what power cord I use, because yesterday I used another power cord that I had before, now I plugged in the power cord that came with the PSU.
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2012, 10:53 AM   #4
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


a crap psu can cause all manner of problems and chieftec are worse than crap plus you need 650w not 600w and you need a good power supply such as corsair,xfx or seasonic.

Did you check the cpu is compatible with your motherboard?
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Why such bad reputation for chieftec PSU's? And yes, it should be, my motherboard's homepage says that they support AMD FX series just that i need to download the latest drivers, and I have F7 driver on it (F8 is the latest, but it's still beta).
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:58 PM   #6
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


cheiftec are low quality i.e cheap rubbish.

when it comes to power supplies and most other technology cheap = crap.

cheiftec are renowned for damaging components and not being anywhere near the wattage they claim on the lable. Add up the amps on the label and see if it comes to wattage it say it is. I bet it doesn't.

The psu is the most important part of your pc, more important than any other components buy crap and you will get problems.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Well, I think that the PSU is problematic, because I just found out that I accidentally took wrong PSU. I wanted to take Chieftec 650w PSU, which was way better and the price was 30 bucks higher too.
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:32 AM   #8
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



You need a good quality PSU to avoid damage to other components.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
You need to be at 650W with a good quality PSU.
SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (not the CX-GS-M Series).


Tyree is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:27 AM   #9
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


what? you have a worse power supply than chieftec? thats quite an accomplishment.

You need a good make of psu such as the ones Tyree has mentioned.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:38 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Well, I think that I got a answer to my question. But one more question, can I connect just a regular fan to the PWR fan slot? If yes, does it do anything different, or will it work the same like other fans?
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:39 AM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


Upgrade to a PSU that Tyree suggested before you damage your other hardware. Chieftech power supplies should come with a fire extinguisher as they are complete junk. The Cpu frequency going up and down is cool and quiet which reduces the cpu's frequency depending on demand. The cpu also has turbo boost up to 4.2ghz which basicly disables some cores and run the ones in use at a higher frequency.
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:40 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



No, I wanted to buy another chieftec PSU, not this chieftec PSU that I have right now and I'm reading that there's nothing wrong with chieftec, just they don't have nothing impressive nor something bad.
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:44 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Thanks Amd_Man, now I know that it's not the PSU that causes CPU frequencies to jump up and down. And yes, I'm still going to get a new PSU. But tell me, why does chieftec has such a bad reputation?
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:46 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



My old PC had a Chieftec PSU and it worked fine for 4-5 years until I sold my PC.
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 11:47 AM   #15
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


Think what you will, but I've seen reviews on them where they exploded and caught fire under load tests. If you value your hardware then you'll invest in a quality power supply. If you don't value the time and money you've invested in hardware then by all means get a very low quality chieftech.
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 12:54 PM   #16
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


all chieftec power supplies are crap not just the one you have.

power supplies dont last forever and a chieftec lasting 5 years must have been one in a million.

The way you figure a psu is gonna be good or crap is the price cheap means crap and if anything have a name that sounds superior like cheiftec, powerman, winpower, huntkey means crap

I used to test power supplies for a living and like AMD man said I have seen them explode, I have seen them catch fire, I have seen them fail and damage every single component in a system apart from the hard drive.

Cheiftecs were renowned for damaging components, huntkey were renowned for exploding, winpower would burn out when pushed within 70% of their claimed wattage I could name many others.

But as all the people in the hardware forum would tell you Seasonic make the best power supplies, seasonic make xfx and they also make corsair (not the gs or cs series though),

I have my system overclocked to 4GHz with a slight voltage increase I have been running this way for 4 years now my system is 100% stable because I use a seasonic m700w psu. I guarantee you that even if I had a cheiftec 850w psu my system would either have died long ago or I would never have been able to overclock as the cheiftec would have blown something inside as soon as I raised the voltage.

I know you dont want to believe because you have spent money on what you think is a good psu and the truth hurts sometimes but take it from me a good psu is worth the money and second of all it is more important than any other piece of hardware you have even the cpu.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:40 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



Hmm, okay, I'm going to think about it. Tell me Corsair GS 700 and Corsair TX 650. Are they good? Which one is better?
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:42 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1



*Tell me about
kalamehetoloog is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:46 PM   #19
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


TX series are great because they are made by seasonic the gs series isn't as good
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:58 PM   #20
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


Yes the TX series are good power supplies that carry a 5 year warranty.
Amd_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer shuts itself off CPU very hot- bent looking pins
Hello I am experiencing some real problems with my computer. My computer randomly shut itself off at one point but then i was able to successfully restart it and carry on playing. However a week or so later the computer turned itself off a few seconds after logging in and after trying to restart...
unit06jaw Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 7 03-26-2012 06:51 AM
multple BSOD's
OS - WIN7 x64 at first i was using win7 starter 32 bit and when i bought win home premium 64 i started having BSOD i purchased the OS from a retailer. i bought my hardware more than a year aggo i installed the OS about 9 months ago and i re installed it 3 times CPU INTEL core i7 950 video...
obloom BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 12-30-2011 09:07 AM
Daily BSODs
This has been going on some time now, I'm almost used to it. I shut down every night, and switch on again in the morning. After anything from a few minutes to 15-20 minutes, BSOD. Sometimes it restarts by itself, sometimes it freezes and I have to power off. Either way, it's then OK until next...
JonPR BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 19 10-28-2011 08:03 AM
Ntoskrnl.exe Problem_error 41 (63) - 0x124 WHEA
Hello guys, this is Alexander from Greece in my second post. I know you have heard this error 1 milion times and i am very sorry about it. But i have done a lot of things with no luck. I am not a pc expert and i really dont know what to do any more. You all are my last hope. After that i will...
alexathin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 06-16-2011 11:24 AM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts