Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Computer wont turn on- Dead Mobo?

This is a discussion on Computer wont turn on- Dead Mobo? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, this is wierd and im wondering if theres a way to solve it without replacing the motherboard. its not


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2008, 12:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



Ok, this is wierd and im wondering if theres a way to solve it without replacing the motherboard.
its not the psu as i replaced it and it still wont turn on.
what happened was, the computer was working fine for a few months but one day when i played a game like crysis,the screen had loads of artifacts and i had to end the app.then later on the motherboard had cmos checksum errors(w/e tht means) then it wouldnt turn on.
wht happens when i try to turn it on is theres a green light to signal power
and the fans turn on for about half a second,turn a tiny bit (just a flicker)
and then nothing....
so if anyone could help,id be in your debt

also my system specs are,
2.2 Ghz core 2 duo
2gb ddr2-800
intel q965 mobo
inno3d 8800gt 512mb
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2008, 12:34 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Watt wattage and brand of psu did you buy? What was the wattage
and brand of the old psu? Sometimes a checksum error will mean
a low cmos battery.
manic is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 01:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok my psu is 600w and is a jeantech artic.I thought it was the psu so i took it back and they exchanged it for the same on but of the shelf(but no dice)
also the mobo is 4 months old so i dont see how the battery has run out,will it start if the battery isnt there?
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2008, 02:13 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



chksum error underpowered
fans flickering could be a short
set it up out of the case with
video
cpu ram
speaker
and see if it posts
check the cpu h/sink is secure and a leg has not popped up



dai is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok will do,also when you say checksum underpowered does that man theres not enough power?
also one of the leg on the heatsink was funny but its ok now,does it make a diffrence if its on funny? surely it would just turn off once it reached its thermal limit,but it would still turn on (correct me if im wrong please).
lastly i was thinking of doing the thing where you take the battery out,but what exactly does that do?
id also like to point out that this website has been the most useful one i been on,keep it up,it rules
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 09:24 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok ive found the problem and ill star a new thread as this one seems to have died :(
the problem was my vid card,ill explain it in the new thread
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 09:31 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok i have an inno3d 880gt 512mb
my problem started when i was p[laying any game and the screen ahd loads of artifacts on it(loads of red lines and smears),later on i took my waterblock off and put the air cooler on,and launched crysis.It worked perfectly for about an hour so i thought it was fine,shut it down.Then afterwards my computer wouldnt turn on. I mangaged to fix it by useing the intergrated stuff for now,but i cant warranty it since ive taken the heatsink off,its 4 months old and di this in the space of a day,can new cards just fail like that? or is there a way to fix it.
also on visual inspection of the card, there are these 2 grey blocks,on of the looks like the top is smudged and the other look as if on the top corner
its like this
____
/


and it looks like the edge has been cut,what are these parts (they are next to the VRMs)
last;y when the card is in,the computer wont turn on at all,the fans turn for about half a second giving a tiny flicker then nothing else happens.
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 10:30 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



don't start new threads on the same problem i have merged the threads
we volenteer our time and work and sleep,so you will not always receive an instant reply
the cause of your problem relates back to the power supply
jeantec are not a recommended unit and the original supply looks like it has taken the card with it when it went
look at something like the 650w corsair psu's if it's under warranty i would be chasing them to fix it



dai is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 11:48 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok i have an inno3d 8800gt 512mb.
recently it has played up but giving loads of artifacts on the screen,then the next itme i booted up my computer wouldnt turn on as,the fans jus flickered but when i took the card out of the slot,it booted up fine.
i cant RMA it as i put a waterblock on,so this invalidates the warranty.
my question is:does anyone know what has happened and if its fixable?
also just before it stopped working i put the original heatsink on and it played crysis fine then on the next reboot it would load but not show the screen,then it wouldnt start at all.
also on visual inspection of the card there are these 2 grey blocks next top the VRMs,of which one looks like the surface is smeared and the other,the corners come off
it looks like this,
___
/

if anyone could help me id be so grateful
thanks
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 11:55 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Might be the heatsink for the ram is heating up and sliding around.
Usually sorta glued on. If the water block had a air bubble in it, it
may have fried the card. If it was getting hot enough to make the
heatsink for the ram to slide around, that would be my guess.
manic is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 03:53 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok,sorry for the double post,i jus thought since it was a video problem it would be better there.
But,manic my waterblock was a full block,which covered the ram as well
the temp never went over 55C and there wernt any airbubble because i checked it.
Also dai,could you explain what you mean,because i kinda see wht your saying.However the 600W psu is more than enough for my setup,as the 8800gt will run on a 400W(just) i have a power meter on my fan controller and it never measured above 350W so i dont understand how the psu wasnt good enough.Also it was my bad for swapping the psu i didnt trynit with the intergrated graphics first,so i thought it was the psu
so i am 99% sure the first one was fine.
And ill try and get a photo of the grey bit for you guys so its easier.
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 04:51 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



heres a photo,notice the smear like part one the top one and the bit that looks like it has been cut off.
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:30 AM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i just got a second opinion and we both think it's tended to melt and the biggest cause
being underpowered



dai is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 06:51 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



so,what are you saing dai,are you saying that those gray things have melted? so the card is underpowered? is that why my computer wont turn on? im sorry im just not very good at understanding
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 07:22 AM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



yes it looks like they have boiled from the inside
when the computer is underpowered it's the main cause of this happening
on avg. your 600w will be putting out 450w usable a top of the range quality 540w a cheap generic 360w
a 600w at peak power when you look at the label will actually be a 550w



dai is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 10:00 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



yes my psu says 550W on the side,also those things are made out of metal so how could it melt,surely itd have to be about 600C
but anyway will this mean ill need a new card then because this one was quite expensive?
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 10:12 AM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you would think so can you try it in another computer to check it



dai is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 11:56 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



Looks to me like the thermal pad holding the heatsink on, "which is
gone" started to bubble, very hot. Have you found any metal
parts laying in the bottom of the case, something about the same
size as those ram chips? But the component with the r12 stamped
on it, does not look good. I would not have alot of faith in that
card at this point.
As mentioned with a system that is underpowered it will cause
undo stress on everything, causing excessive heat and failure.
When you installed the water cooling block did you have to remove
the heatsinks for the ram? Just curious,,,
manic is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 01:31 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok,well i dont have another computer to try it in but i found a 8500gt (wh00p),so im gonna use that for now,what do you think would happen if i sent it back after the watercooling stuff?
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:58 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
OS: Vista Business x86



ok manic i see what your saying but it doesnt make sense
the original covers the whole card and uses thermal pads to cool the memory,but my waterblock downt as it ciomes in direct contact with the memory so it just needs thermal paste.there were no heatsonks seperatly for the ram.also there are no metal bits at the bottom of my case i just checked.does anyone know what the r12 thing is? and if this is what has made the card fail?
also,i still dont see how it could of been underpowered,as theres 36A on the 12V(i think).I dont htink it was a bad psu as it was 70 quid when i got it,and it says its sli certifyed so i think it would handle my setup with ease.Its been fine for 4 months at anyrate and i didnt detect a power loss on the fan controller when it happened.
oh and one last thing,how has the thermal pad holding the heatsink on bubbled? i took them off and my temp was never obove 55C under load(this card gets very hot) so i dont understand how heat was a problem
Tu_Ultimate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts