Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Computer wont start

This is a discussion on Computer wont start within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This computer has been running perfectly. Yesterday morning, it took a couple of tries to start and was then fine.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2007, 10:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



This computer has been running perfectly. Yesterday morning, it took a couple of tries to start and was then fine. This morning, it wont start at all. The power light comes on, followed by a series of fast beeps, then power goes off and starts again etc.
The fast beeps indicate a power error according to gigabyte manual, so I tested the power output of the PSU. It read 10% over on all readings, so I presume it is ok.
I then found that if I disconnect the CPU connector, the motherboard will start up. So I have removed the CPU and heat sink, cleaned, reseated, greased and replaced it.
I start again but no different, beeps and restart.
My worst suspision is that the CPU is fried, the old grease was quite dried out in the centre. Help please as Im stuck here





ThisGigabyte DS3 board
Intel core2duo 2.13Gh 6400 CPU overclocked to 3.2Gh
Antec case & PSU
luceberg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2007, 11:09 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,666
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Im guessing that if you oc'ed your cpu from 2ghz to 3.2 you probly fried it. If you just had air cooling and no water then thats probly what happend.
emosun is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 11:28 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



psu tolerance is -/+ 5%
https://www.bioscentral.com/beepcodes/awardbeep.htm



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2007, 11:41 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



Thanks emosun, is that an educated guess. I would like more confirmation if that is the case.

I did lots of CPU stress programs and temperature monitoring and all was well within spec.
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 11:49 AM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,666
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


Well just because the cpu is cool doesnt mean you didnt fry it. And by fry it i mean wore it out. I think you overclocked it way to much.
emosun is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 11:56 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



Thanks emosun, if that is the case, I have learned a costly lesson.

Dai, are you indicating that the psu might be faulty and could be the cause of the problem?
or that the extra voltage may have helped cook the CPU?
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:30 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



modern cpu's have a built in safety switch which should shut down the computer before it cooks it
try another power supply in it



dai is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 04:06 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



I just ordered an Antec Neo 500W Psu, since the original one must have been very cheap as it was included with the Antec 75 case. Thanks for the help folks.
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:33 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
OS:



sounds like a fried cpu and not so much a faulty psu. just sounds like it was running too hot and cooked. most of the setups i've scene with a 6400 oced to 3.2 were watercooled
ninny323 is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:30 AM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


I agree with dia, try another power supply

Quote:
The fast beeps indicate a power error according to gigabyte manual, so I tested the power output of the PSU. It read 10% over on all readings, so I presume it is ok
Thats no good its overvolting, the board could possibly sense this and produce the beeps then shutdown

Quote:
I then found that if I disconnect the CPU connector, the motherboard will start up
Thats another good indicator that the board is sensing something wrong, if the cpu fried by means of overheating you would have noticed it when you cleaned the thermal paste off, it most likely would have burnt edges or looked very blue
Doby is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:43 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



Yes, I am reconciled to the cpu is probably fried.

I want a decent psu anyway, so will try that first.

An excuse to get the E6750 anyway, and I wont overclock this time, well maybe a little.
If the psu voltage was 10% over then I presume that voltage given to the cpu was close to 1.5 volts, which may not have helped.
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:50 AM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



software monitors are not always accurate,we use them only as a guide
to find the actual voltage using a multi meter is the best option



dai is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:50 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



When I took off the cpu, there was no sign of burning. The thermal paste was a little dried up in the centre. I checked the flatness of cpu and heatsink, both not very accurate, concave in fact. I shall get a lapping kit together.
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 02:39 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



I have now replaced the PSU and after some coughing and spluttering, she booted up as normal. Quite a relief that the CPU is ok. Thanks to all for the help provided.
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 05:06 PM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Great news!
Doby is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 05:08 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



I think I spoke too soon on this. Although it booted up and has been running fine, I did some Orthos stress testing without any overclock and got rounding errors very quickly. Also been cycling about 5 times before starting up then blank screen, stop and start again and it will then boot up.
So I reset the CMOS to try and solve this and it has now gone back to the continuous beeps. I guess it is the CPU after all. Also, the meter I used to read the psu output as 10% over had a flat battery and was reading inaccurately, oops!
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 05:13 PM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check what the bios beeps are saying here
www.bioscentral.com



dai is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 05:30 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



Under Award Bios Beep Codes, it says;

Repeating fast beeps = cpu error if I read it correctly.

It actually says Repeating High/Low = CPU error
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 05:52 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP pro



However, in the Gigabyte manual it says;

Continuous short beeps: Power error

Also there are other contradictions, so who to take seriously?
luceberg is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 05:58 PM   #20
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
OS:



Remove and reinsert the RAM modules. If you want clean the RAM contacts with a little contact cleaner.
EricMexico is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts