Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Computer will not boot after ram upgrade, POST beeps

This is a discussion on Computer will not boot after ram upgrade, POST beeps within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Guys, I need your help I have 1Gb of RAM from my old PC which I no longer use, and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2010, 03:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP



Guys, I need your help

I have 1Gb of RAM from my old PC which I no longer use, and thought I will help my buddy who has 512Mb on his old PC, by offering to install it, but the computer does not boot now. Tried changing to an old ram, but it doesn't start on old ram either. Is it possible I screwed up something with motherboard, or voltages by installing new ram?

The computer is Intel Celeron 2.4Ghz, 400Mhz FSB, with an old motherboard with integrated graphics (CPU-Z names as I865GV). The previous RAM was DDR SDRAM 400Mhz, 184pins. The new RAM is this: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

In appearance and specs, both rams look same type - 184pins, 2.5V, DDR SDRAM. I was worried the old RAM could be SDRAM, due to ambigious Passmark designation, but SDRAM is 168pins, so this option is pretty much out. The only visual difference is that new ram has modules on both sides of the module, while the old was one sided.

Phoenix BIOS POST gives me the same constant beep-beep-beep-beep, with alternating frequencies between two. Would it help to update the BIOS? What else could I do?

Please help

Attached are the specs:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Memory problem.PNG
Views:	45
Size:	30.2 KB
ID:	80069  
Amphibia07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2010, 04:44 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP



After reading some comments on the internet tried a couple of things:

1. Installing RAM in pairs (in case mb supports dual ram only).
2. Taking out the batterry from mb to clear BIOS.
3. Checking cables to Hardridve, motherboard, power supply.

Nothing works so far. Could it be that the new ram does not fit the mb, and I damaged the old by static charge, so neither works now...? Well, possible, but its still low chances I damaged both modules.
Amphibia07 is offline  
Old 10-12-2010, 06:39 AM   #3
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



REmove ALL the RAM-clear the CMOS-install the original RAM and try to boot.
Mixing RAM brands/specs commonly results in the problems you are having.
s this an OEM (HP-Dell-etc,) PC? If so, post the Brand & Model Number.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts