Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

computer problem

This is a discussion on computer problem within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Can anyone help me my computer has some problem with it, it doesn't boot up when i turn on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2007, 05:50 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
OS:



Hi

Can anyone help me my computer has some problem with it, it doesn't boot up when i turn on the computer it goes on but i can't see nothing on the screen and it doesn't beep i tried changing the monitor,battery and harddrive and still does not work could anyone tell me what the problem could be?

thanks

computerhelp1
computerhelp1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2007, 06:12 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


welcome
list your computer specs including the power supply.
speedster123 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:20 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
OS:



hi

What sort of computer specs do you want?

thanks

computerhelp1
computerhelp1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2007, 02:06 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
OS:



no beep is for the power supply or mobo. make sure all connections are all the way in. if that doesn't work, try a new power supply. if that doesn't work then it's most likely your motherboard
ninny323 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 06:38 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


Quote:
What sort of computer specs do you want?
what computer do you have?
take the side off and read the specs on the side of the supply.
speedster123 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 09:19 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by ninny323 View Post
no beep is for the power supply or mobo. make sure all connections are all the way in. if that doesn't work, try a new power supply. if that doesn't work then it's most likely your motherboard

i agree with this suggestion.. make sure the connections are secure first. the problem is most likely your power supply, and you should hope it is as that is cheapest to replace... do you have a power supply to swap out?

also are any LED's that are normally lit not lit anymore? did you add any hardware? maybe your power supply is insufficient.

list all of your hardware piece by piece.
WaXeD is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 09:34 AM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try a cmos reset



dai is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:45 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
OS:



HI

I have tried changing the power last time and it didn't make a different to the thing it was still the same it did not beep but the led lights do lit

i have a pentium III computer

thanks

computerhelp1
computerhelp1 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 03:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
OS: XP



what do u mean u tried changing power, do you mean a different outlet? or did you change the power supply in your case?

if you swapped the power supply, try a different outlet... if you swapped outlets swap power supplies if possible.

umm, just reread your first post... battery? this is a laptop? are u sure the battery you swapped to was a charged battery? have you given your current one time to charge?

ps. also make sure your voltage for your power supply is in the correct position... make sure that the switch is at 110 and not 210.
WaXeD is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 11:04 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
OS:



Hi

Well i changed the power supply in my case but it didn't make a difference

its a desktop computer what do you mean by have you given your current one time to charge?

thanks

computerhelp1
computerhelp1 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:18 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by computerhelp1 View Post
Hi

Well i changed the power supply in my case but it didn't make a difference

its a desktop computer what do you mean by have you given your current one time to charge?

thanks

computerhelp1
then it's most likely a problem with the motherboard
ninny323 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 07:28 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
OS: XP



@computerhelp1 you said that you swapped batteries... what battery are you talking about.
did you make sure that 110 is selected instead of 210 or not?
are you currently using onboard video, or are you using a video card? if you're using a video card try out your onboard.. if you're using onboard and have a video card in another computer that will work with your mobo, try to put that in and use that for output.

do everything i say please, as it helps in determining the problem.

@ninny323 i would not conclude the mobo being the problem yet... there's still plenty of other possibilities.
WaXeD is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:58 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by WaXeD View Post

@ninny323 i would not conclude the mobo being the problem yet... there's still plenty of other possibilities.

i'm basing it off the bios beep code.
ninny323 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:56 AM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what bios beep code,as long as the other psu that was tried was of higher wattage and known to be good then i also would think it is pointing to the m/b
have you checked it for bios beep code when the ram is removed



dai is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:12 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
what bios beep code
let me rephrase, the lack of a beep code.
ninny323 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:58 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
OS:



Hi

I swapped the motherboard battery with the other with another battery exactly the same.
I can't change the voltage
i'm using video card and what is a onboard

thanks

Computerhelp1

@computerhelp1 you said that you swapped batteries... what battery are you talking about.
did you make sure that 110 is selected instead of 210 or not?
are you currently using onboard video, or are you using a video card? if you're using a video card try out your onboard.. if you're using onboard and have a video card in another computer that will work with your mobo, try to put that in and use that for output.

do everything i say please, as it helps in determining the problem.

@ninny323 i would not conclude the mobo being the problem yet... there's still plenty of other possibilities. d
computerhelp1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts