Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Computer froze, now wont start.

This is a discussion on Computer froze, now wont start. within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Last night, my computer locked up on me while unzipping 2 large files, listening to music, copying another large file


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2005, 07:48 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:



Last night, my computer locked up on me while unzipping 2 large files, listening to music, copying another large file to another drive letter on the same disk, and browsing.

I moved my mouse over to the "login" area on my gmail account, and the computer froze. My computer HARDLY ever freezes, and its on almost 24x7.

Anyway, it locked up and i had no choice but to hold the pwr button until it shut off. I waited about 3-5 seconds, turned it back on and this is what happend:

1. NO video/display...monitor LED stayed orange (normally changes to green)
2. Repeative beeps...about 1 second long beeps.
3. beeps stopped.

I than turned it back off and tried to turn it back on again and this is what happend:

1. monitor light turned green.
2. went into screen that shows my Video Card info
3. locked up again

i than restarted again..and now...i get no beeps, no video signal...NOTHING.

whats going on?

thanks in advance for any help.

btw.

MSI K7N2 delta L
AMD Athlon 2800+
Nvidia Fx5200 128Mb GFX
onboard sound.
Via Firewire
40Gb Maxtor HDD
standard floppy
plextor DVD RW
LG CDrw

i tried taking out everything except video card and HDD. and still nothing.
i chcked the cpu, and the thermal stuff seemed to be hard, brown in color, and dry.
hmarandi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2005, 08:10 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


first redo the thermal paste with some artic silver
https://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm
check what the bios beep codes was saying here
www.bioscentral.com
and then come back and let us know and we can move on from there



dai is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 08:14 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,168
OS:


welcome to tsf
ok
well you have to replace the thermal compound now
clean off both surfaces well. use only a finger nail width of artic 5..
try pulling your battery out for 20 min or so before you fire it up.

Quote:
my computer locked up on me while unzipping 2 large files, listening to music, copying another large file to another drive letter on the same disk, and browsing.
the multitasking must have overheated one of your components, or more, maybe the cpu or the psu...

post back
whodat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2005, 08:47 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


Thank you for the replies.

i am at work right now, so when im off, ill grab some thermal stuff.

i chcked the beep code website, however.. i do not understand what 1-1-1-2 etc. mean.

what i had was non-stop beeps that were about 1 second in length, and about 1second gap b/w each beep

thanks again.

*i was planning on getting a G5....but not this soon, i dont' have the money yet, i need my comp fixed to give my portfolio out :(
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 08:56 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


Also, does the CPU actually "know" if there is thermal pad on it or not?

i mean...if i put thermal pad on, will it magically boot again? is it designed to sense thermal pad. ?
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:09 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 604
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by hmarandi
Also, does the CPU actually "know" if there is thermal pad on it or not?

i mean...if i put thermal pad on, will it magically boot again? is it designed to sense thermal pad. ?
The cpu not aware of the thermal pad but it could fix the problem. Your computer might be overheating as soon as you turn it on. After you replace the thermal pad then it might not overheat there fore the computer will start. Of corse it only going to fix the problem if overheating is the problem.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:31 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


So, withing the 3 seconds my computer is on, its overheating (if overheating is the problem)?

ill try the thermal cream stuff anyway, wont hurt, and i don't think it cost too much.
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 11:08 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


yes it can only take a couple of seconds being as you unseated it,and continuos regular beep usually indicates cpu problem of some sort



dai is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 11:12 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


Thank you so much.
I will go right after work and pick up some of the thermal goodness.

thanks again. i will post if there are further problems.

*you guys rock..such quick responses! thanks again.
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:59 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


ok, i tired putting on the thermal thing, and still the same.

sometimes it beeps..most of the time is doesn't do anything.

this time it beeped...... 1 long, 2 short.....than a 1/2 (kinda incomplete) beep and again, 1 long, 2 short and same thing over and over.

i don't understand what this means according to the PHEOnix bios code beep error site.

any help please?

thanks everyone
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 04:22 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,168
OS:


did you clear your cmos?
whodat is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 12:16 AM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


1-1-2-1 Get CPU type
do as suggested in the above post



dai is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:58 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


i have cleared the cmos, and removd the battery for over an hour.

occasionaly it beeps....sometimes it doesn't so anything at all.....and sometimes it boots and freezes @ the screen that show the mmeroy size of my video card and type etc. and wont go further than that.

ive tried putting the ram in a different slot, still nothing. Ive chcked the cpu and made sure its sitting nicely...still nothing.


any other sugestions?
thanks
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 09:54 AM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


pull the video card and then put it back,if still no good,pull it out of the case and have a good look at the front and back of the m/b for any damage,and set it up out of the case with
cpu
video
ram
speaker
and see if it posts stabally



dai is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 03:36 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


I have pulled the video card.
the board and everythign with it is already pulled out of the computer and set up on my desk.

The motherboard has no visible damage or leaking caps or anything. visually there are no issues with it.

the video card im pretty sure is fine. The reason i say this is because when i boot up the pc, the HDD activity light does nothing. As if it is not getting a signal to tell it to do stuff.

Im thinking the mobo is completely done with. But i dont' understand why. Maybe im wrong, it could be something else.

anything else i can try?

thanks again.
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 05:22 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


btw, i have the d bracket installed on the back of my system if that helps any.

i dont' know what the lights mean tho. i tried googling.and got this :

https://www.msicomputer.com/support/sup_tshoot.asp#1_4

ill try to figure it out when i get home.
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:33 PM   #17
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


from the MSI support site on the link in the previous post, assuming the BLACK is red and white is Green leds... for the D-Braket leds...

my system is currently showing that only LED #4 is green, and the rest are all red (1,2,3).

i chcked on msi's website..and this is what it said

" Memory Detection Test
- Testing onboard memory size. The D-LED will hang if the memory module is damaged or not installed properly "

onboard memory? is that talking out the memory on the actual motherboard? or my RAM?
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:16 AM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


assuming from the beep code award bios?
according to the link that you posted with only the bottom right light green {4}
Initializing Video Interface
- This will start detecting CPU clock, checking type of video onboard. Then, detect and initialize the video adapter
1 Long, 2 Short A video error has occurred and the BIOS cannot intialize the video screen to display any additional information



dai is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:36 AM   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
OS:


its a pheonix bios on this board.

based on the info you provided, its saying that my Video Card is toast?!

sometimes it tries to post, but it freezes...so doesn't that mean the video card is working?
hmarandi is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:49 AM   #20
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


not nessasarilly,it could be the power supply is not pushing out enough amps,are you using a quality supply and what watts and amps is it putting out,look at the label on the side of the supply



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts