Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Computer Doesn't Always Boot.

This is a discussion on Computer Doesn't Always Boot. within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've been trying to figure this out for a while I've tried almost everything I can think of, and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2010, 07:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
OS: vista



Hi, I've been trying to figure this out for a while I've tried almost everything I can think of, and at the moment I think it is either a overheating or cpu problem. Anyways basically my computer has a 50% chance of a successful boot, when it doesn't boot properly the tower turn on showing all lights and fans running but monitor stays blank. However when the computer does turn on, it may sometimes freeze while the operating system is loading. First thing I did is formatted my hard drive, didn't help. Then I was given advice it would be my motherboard so I replaced my motherboard, no change. Then my power supply unit and still it continued happening. My graphix card was bought new about a year ago. I have a new 2 gig ram stick which i bought around the same time as the graphix card. Yeah that's basically it, I am stomped that's why I am not sure whether it might be an overheating or cpu problem. And I've also reset the BIOS and updated it. any ideas?
pr1celess is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2010, 07:41 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the specs of the PC.

MB
CPU
RAM
GPU
PSU brand/wattage
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 07:57 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
OS: vista



cpu : PentiumD 935 (P) DC 3.2 GHz
motherboard: Asus P5LP-LE
Ram: Kingston <-- all i can remember lol.
graphix card: Nvidia GeForce 9500gt
Psu: 400watts as for brand i cant find it without pulling it out.
pr1celess is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2010, 06:35 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Knowing the brand & model of your components id important for us to effectively assist you. You can see the PSU label by removing the case side cover.



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 08:51 AM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



upgrade

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b550w



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts