Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

cmos checksum error press F1 to enter Bios F2 to install default bios settings

This is a discussion on cmos checksum error press F1 to enter Bios F2 to install default bios settings within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. motherboard gigabyte GA-7ZXE CPU duron 950 mhz HDD Western Digital 40 gb Caviar 256 mb of ram OS win2k pro


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2005, 08:24 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
OS:



motherboard gigabyte GA-7ZXE
CPU duron 950 mhz
HDD Western Digital 40 gb Caviar
256 mb of ram
OS win2k pro
When the system is first booting i am getting a checksum error press F1 to enter bios F2 to load default bios settings. The problem is that the bios does not seem to reconize the keyboard because when I hit F2 to load the default settings it will not proceed in the boot or F1 to enter the bios settings. I am going to swap the battery but, I do not think this is the issue that is causing the boot to stop at the checksum error, not getting bad checksum which would lead me to beleive the battery is dead. one other thing that I notice is the nvram does not show that it is ok. The memory is loading showing the correct amount.

My question is will the nvram cause the system to freeze at the checksum error.
cgator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2005, 08:50 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Apache Junction AZ
Posts: 2,163
OS: (1) Xp Pro (4) Win 8.1 Pro



Try replacing the CMOS battery. Replacement battery DL2032 or CR2032.
oldmn is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:57 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 92
OS:


If the keyboard is wireless, and the transmitter plugs into a USB port, then you need to enable usb keyboard settings in the BIOS I think. Obviously you will need a non wireless keyboard to do this.
Mark07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2005, 09:33 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
all replies above are very good advice / try those first >>> if they dont work then try a bios update >>> before you update your bios get a brief how to in here >>>> the DOS utility is the most reliable as long as you perform a few small simple steps first / read your mobo manual and review the DOS utility version


regards

joe
linderman is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 06:18 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,154
OS:


its seems like a cmos battery issue.
keymaker is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 10:35 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tbilisi
Posts: 20
OS: XP Professional SP3



your CMOS Battery is LOW. replace Cmos battery and problem will resolve.
gambasha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts