Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

CMOS checksum error

This is a discussion on CMOS checksum error within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, I had posted a question in the video card section but I solved that problem after updating the


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tristar
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2019, 08:49 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
buccaneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
OS: Windows 10



Hi everyone,
I had posted a question in the video card section but I solved that problem after updating the BIOS, but now when the pc starts, it shows a CMOS checksum error message before it continues on to load Windows 10. It does get into the OS, and the PC is working normally otherwise. I entered the correct date and time in the BIOS, so why am I getting a checksum error message in the beginning? Could someone kindly help with this please?
buccaneer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2019, 01:13 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



High chances the CMOS battery might need to get replaced if you've already cleared/reset CMOS.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-02-2019, 07:33 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


After updating the BIOS, did you load optimized defaults?
Lead3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2019, 08:44 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
buccaneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
OS: Windows 10



@ tristar: Well I had put in a new battery, but I havent reset the CMOS by using the BIOS set up jumper. The motherboard is a DH67CL and I think I have to reset the CMOS by using the Jumper?


@ Lead3 I actually didnt see any option to load an optimized default setting, I will have to check again sir.
buccaneer is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 09:33 AM   #5
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by buccaneer View Post
@ tristar: Well I had put in a new battery, but I havent reset the CMOS by using the BIOS set up jumper. The motherboard is a DH67CL and I think I have to reset the CMOS by using the Jumper?


@ Lead3 I actually didnt see any option to load an optimized default setting, I will have to check again sir.
Clearing CMOS will load factory/optimized defaults.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 07-04-2019, 01:30 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



If it's a Desktop, yes, there will be a jumper, locate it on the motherboard, read the motherboard manual, follow the instructions correctly and perform the reset.

Once you boot back up, you should get the checksum error or a note that loaded optimized defaults, setup all the settings, including Time and date then start the PC, once you're in Windows shut it down completely, leave it off for 5 minutes, turn it back on, are you getting the checksum error ? If not, you're good to go.
buccaneer likes this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts