Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Chassis(?) Fan Slow

This is a discussion on Chassis(?) Fan Slow within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, keep in mind I am not very experienced with computers, and while I some parts, i did not build

Closed Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 09:54 PM   #1
Registered Member

Ok, keep in mind I am not very experienced with computers, and while I some parts, i did not build this computer and cant understand much by looking inside the case:
One of the fans on my computer, I believe called a chassis fan, is one of 2 non-case fans, the other being the intel cpu fan.
The chassis fan has slowed down significantly from 3400 to 2200 today, first day in over a year of owning the computer.
It has become increasingly loud, and if i slow it down using speedfan it slows down but remains loud, so the speed is not the problem with the volume.
https://i50.tinypic.com/16c8389.jpg
https://i49.tinypic.com/zwknwk.jpg
Very small one with the circular clear case.
Since this happened fps drops significantly while playing games, obviously purpose of the computer.
Pretty sure this chassis fan is part of the motherboard as its labeled asus and my mobo is a Asus striker II extrm

specs:
530w psu
nvidia gtx 285
Asus striker II extreme mobo
intel quad core q9450 2.66 ghz
raidmax smilodon case

my speculation was that my power supply is very low with 530w considering the rest of my parts of my computer, so perhaps the fan had heavy demand on it and began to die out shorter than manufactured to?

sorry for wall of text, it would be less dense if i knew what i was talking about.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-30-2009, 06:35 AM   #2
Emeritus