Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Can't Modify BIOS and Restart (ASUS A8V Deluxe)

This is a discussion on Can't Modify BIOS and Restart (ASUS A8V Deluxe) within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Alright, this one is similar to previous posts when it comes to error messages however I think I've got a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2005, 11:28 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:



Alright, this one is similar to previous posts when it comes to error messages however I think I've got a slight variation on this one.
I booted my machine and get an error "No attached drive to Fast Track Controller. No BIOS installed." It kept going and then gave me a CMOS error that the checksum was invalid, etc. I got the option to continue with default BIOS settings or set up my BIOS.
The first time I decided to continue and got into the installation of my OS (Fedora Core). I mispartioned my harddrive (carelessness) and so the installer kicked me out. I reset the machine and started getting the audible error that some CPU test failed.
I then cleared the CMOS, restarted and got to the point where it again offered me the option to set up my BIOS or use the defaults. Now, whenever I click continue, I get a blinking cursor forever. If I click Setup, I can go through and modify whatever I want, however when I restart I get the same CPU test failed error. It seems that I'm in a lose-lose situation here. No matter what I tinker with in BIOS, I can't restart the machine and operate with those settings: I'll get the audible CPU error.
One last thing, whenever I use the word, "restart," I mean manual, flip the switch on my case restart. It never wants to shutdown on its own. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. Thanks,
mj

AMD64 3400+
ASUS A8V Deluxe
ATI Radeon 98-somthing or other
120mB Maxtor SATA HD
elmaestro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2005, 11:53 AM   #2
mark3567
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Hi,

I don't know much too much about this board, but do know that some success has been had by using only one single stick of RAM in slot DIMM_B1.

It is always a good idea to use the default BIOS settings when setting up a newer board and then alter when you need to. (ie: if you need to turn off the promise raid controller, etc)

Also, it might be a good idea if you take a look at this ASUS information for this board:

https://www.asus.com/support/faq/qan...KB_ID=100090942
 
Old 01-29-2005, 12:42 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:


Yeah, I've got a single stick of ram (Ultra 400 mHz 1024mB) in that slot already. Also, your link didn't work.
mj
elmaestro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2005, 01:49 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:


Grin

Hey, found the answer! When I used the default settings for my BIOS, the Hyper-Threading bus freq was reset to 1000mHz instead of the 800mHz it should've been! That's why I kept getting that freaky error. Thanks to mark for suggestions and anyone else that looked but didn't know!
elmaestro is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 02:53 PM   #5
mark3567
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


HI,

So glad you got it going. Now, what I would like for you to do is hang around the forum from time to time and if you see someone with the same problem that you had, lend them a hand. That is what makes our forum great. None of us are paid for what we do and are all volunteers. The reward comes when some time you are able to make a difference in getting someone going. Will look for you on the forum.
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts