Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

Can't access the BIOS in a Lenovo ThinkPad T430i

This is a discussion on Can't access the BIOS in a Lenovo ThinkPad T430i within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a ThinkPad T430i running Windows 10. I want to enable virtualization, so I need to access the BIOS


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2018, 04:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10


Roll Eyes

I have a ThinkPad T430i running Windows 10. I want to enable virtualization, so I need to access the BIOS to enable the feature.

When I reboot my laptop it asks me to press Enter to interrupt the booting and once I do it asks me to press F1 to enter the BIOS setup. However, when I press F1 it just shows me a blank screen.

I tried updating my BIOS to the latest version (from https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/nz/en/downloads/ds029252) but it still does the same thing.

How do I get access to the BIOS or how do I enable virtualization without going into the BIOS?
milindsaraswala is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2018, 04:33 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Try using F2 or DEL key on the keyboard, alternate between them after you press the power button..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 06:15 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10


Thumbs Down

Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
Try using F2 or DEL key on the keyboard, alternate between them after you press the power button..
I did all below things

Press ThinkVantage button -> Press F1 -> Enter BIOS
or

Press F12 to run boot menu -> Press Tab to switch tab -> Select enter BIOS -> Hit Enter.

But It shows me black screen once I select BIOS Setup
milindsaraswala is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2018, 06:46 AM   #4
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Enterprise laptop ? with a BIOS password ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
Enterprise laptop ? with a BIOS password ?
Yes it is Enterprise Laptop but I know the password. It is just showing blank when I select bios setup
milindsaraswala is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:49 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



If you know the BIOS password, tap the key for the BIOS, once it's there, just key in the password and hit enter, it should let you in..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 09:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
If you know the BIOS password, tap the key for the BIOS, once it's there, just key in the password and hit enter, it should let you in..
Why on the earth people not understanding that I know all the key to go to BIOS Utility but when i select BIOS utility it does not show anything just blank screen no options but it boots in windows smoothly
milindsaraswala is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 09:56 AM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



You need to clear up on what you see...

So you tap the BIOS key, it does nothing and takes you to windows ? or do you see a black screen which does nothing ?

If it's the second one, read my post above again
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 10:01 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
You need to clear up on what you see...

So you tap the BIOS key, it does nothing and takes you to windows ? or do you see a black screen which does nothing ?

If it's the second one, read my post above again
Noooooooooo

I press enter on boot logo screen, then it shows me to press F1 to go boot utility it shows notthing

second option I press F12 it shows me boot menu and application menu I go to Application menu and setup bios but it shows blank

I tried to remove CMOS battery + HDD + bater pack + remove power cord and then press power button for 10-20 than put all try to BIOS but still same

That is my issue
milindsaraswala is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 10:02 AM   #10
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Press F1, once you see the blank screen, directly type your BIOS password and hit enter...
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 10:03 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
Press F1, once you see the blank screen, directly type your password and hit enter...
Already did but nothing. I will try again give me 5 minute
milindsaraswala is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 10:55 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



I tried but it did not help to me at all.
milindsaraswala is offline  
Old 07-31-2018, 03:28 AM   #13
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



If it's a company laptop, please contact your IT administrator..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-05-2018, 03:13 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 77
OS: CentOS


Remove battery hold down power button and drain the board, pray, and reassemble.
christophHoff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows laptop infected with viruses
Hi. I have a laptop which must be infected with viruses etc. When I open chrome or IE new pages open up to ad sites. The antivirus which is already installed is notifying me of background changes and system changes from unknown (for me) program names I can't remember now. I installed AVG...
williamd244 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 8 05-27-2015 06:26 AM
Lot of pup up's while surfing the web, can't use the computer anymore
Hi, It is getting very hard to use internet since any page I open, a lot of pup up's appears. I regularly use Chrome, I tried with Explorer, but I have the same problem. It appears to me that the problem started couple of days ago when I installed a software to recognize mac formatted...
conroman Resolved HJT Threads 16 02-23-2015 04:33 AM
Lenovo Thinkpad E420 Edge Bios Password Locked; Cannot Reset
Hello, Ox here. I'm working on a Lenovo Thinkpad E420 Edge laptop. Customer had a bios password set on it and can't remember it. I removed the battery, and the internal CMOS battery for 24 hours, hoping it would clear everything. It did not clear the password. I looked on Lenovo's site, and...
oxleg Laptop Support 3 09-05-2014 09:45 PM
Various BSODs since computer was built
Hello! Ever since I built this computer I've had various BSODs. They can seemingly happen anytime, but they are more common when playing games such as Battlefield 3 or Skyrim. Here is my build (11 months old): Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (OEM)/6.1 (Build 7601: Service Pack 1) ...
CharlesARatliff BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 141 05-18-2013 12:08 AM
DAILY BSOD's FOR MONTHS-PLS. HELP!!
Hi Moderators: I've been having a BSOD problem with my Dell Studio540 desktop for months now and finally have some time to try and fix the problem. :banghead: It's my main computer and I use for business as well as personal. Per "JCGRIFF2"'s instructions on BSOD posting, here are the...
BIGBEARJEDI BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-03-2013 12:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts