Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Bus problem on A8N-SLI?

This is a discussion on Bus problem on A8N-SLI? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just this week I got in all the parts to my new PC, and got right to building. I finished


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2006, 10:54 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
OS:



Just this week I got in all the parts to my new PC, and got right to building. I finished last night, then began installing Windows this morning, around 10:00 am. To make the story short, it took roughtly 6 hours to install; and once it was installed, it took outrageous times to boot, followed by outrageous times to install simple drivers; and finally froze on every reboot.

I've since cleared pretty much any possibility outside of the motherboard itself. I'm thinking it might be a messed up bus, but if anyone else has a diagnoses or possibilities to fix this issue before I go ahead and send back the mobo I'm open to them.

Again, it just runs amazingly slow.

Specs:
ASUS A8N-SLI
60GB WD HDD
250GB Maxtor HDD
AMD 64 3500+ Venice Core
1 Gig PQI TURBO PC-3200 RAM
Hiper Type-R Modular 580W Power Supply
MagnaKaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2006, 07:14 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional


Hi,

There has to be something amiss in the basic setup you have, because of the time it took to install that OS (if I understood what you said) and setup.

List for us the types of all drives with brand name (IDE - Sata), where they are placed on the ribbon cable and if IDE, where the jumpers are set. Please list all drives that are on IDE #1 and IDE #2 so we know the exact setup.

Also, if you have a Sata drive, tell us about loading the Sata drivers, like how did you do it, where did you get them from, how did you prepare the disk to be used (partition and format) for the system.

Although I could be missing something, it just seems to me that something is wrong in the setup of your board. When that is cleared up, then it might be time to look at other issues.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:58 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
OS:


The WD is the oldest, a WD600BB-00CAA1. It's IDE. A 60 gig drive I was attempting to install on. I'd been botting off of it for the past two years fine, and threw it back in my old PC to see if I had somehow messed it up in the transfer, but Windows installed quickly on it in my old PC.

The Maxtor is a 250GB DiamondMax Plus 9 ATA/133 HDD, I can't find an actual serial for the drive itself, but I hope that's enough.

I had them set up where the WD was master and the Maxtor slave on the primary IDE, my Sony DVD-RW and a Samsung CD-RW are the slave and master on the secondary IDE respectively.
MagnaKaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2006, 11:31 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
OS:


Problem Solved? Maybe...

I have just found out the bios for the A8N-SLI does not support 3500++ AMDs out of the box, so they run horrendously slow until you DO update the bios. This may be my solution.
MagnaKaser is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:51 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional


Hi,

I hope that is your problem, but wanted to tell you that I have an
A8N-sli deluxe and am running an Athlon San Diego 3700+ (the San Diego is one step up from the Venice, almost alike) right out of the box and it is a smoking machine. However, don't know about the
A8N-sli version.

Post back if you have problems or questions.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:00 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
OS:


This was indeed the problem, it's now running extremely well. :)
MagnaKaser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts