Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

built new computer and it turns on for 10 seconds and shuts off

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  Tumbleweed36 
#1 ·
hey guys im new with this but i have a problem.. my friend and i build me a new computer to play counterstrike source on and well we ordered the parts and installed them and we went to turn the computer on and everything lighted up and fans ran but than after 10 seconds it shut off.. then if i turn it back on right away it stays running for 3 seconds

my computer specs

-Xion case
-Rosewill 400 watt power supply
-Intel Celeron D 356 Cedar Mill 3.33GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 Single-Core Processor
-Evga Geforce 7800GT graphic card
- ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 LGA 775 VIA PT880 Pro/PT880 Ultra ATX Intel Motherboard
- 2gigs of ram DDR
-maxtor hard drive 160gb 8mb 7200rpm

and i think thats it could anyone help me PLEASE i don't no what it could be other than my power supply being to small... HELP....

#3 · (Edited)
With your description, I see two possible problems:

First, the power supply you have chosen is not only too small, but is about as poor quality of power supply that you can purchase, so it most likely is not up to the job. If it will even run the rig, a power supply like that can damage other components over time.

Second, I suspect that you did not apply the thermal paste correctly and it is heating up very quickly and then cooling and you can run it again. The second time, it is already warm, so it heats up quicker and so on and so on, etc. HERE are Artic Silver Instructions that you need to follow when redoing the thermal paste.

I do suggest you do that and when you put it back together, make sure that Heatsink is snapped clear down with both legs in tightly.

#4 ·