Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

BIOS Issue on Asus Board

This is a discussion on BIOS Issue on Asus Board within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok I'm looking for some help here in this situation as me and a friend of mine are trying to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2008, 03:44 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
OS:



Ok I'm looking for some help here in this situation as me and a friend of mine are trying to fix a certain problem that occured a few days ago while attempting to update the BIOS on my Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus Mobo. After updating the BIOS and restarting the computer something somewhere along the line the BIOS got corrupted. Here are the symptoms my computer is having:

All hardware appears to be working properply(Fans, HDD, Processor, CD-Rom Drive seem to be working fine.) The issue is that the BIOS doesn't seem to run so my computer won't boot. To put it simply all I get on start up is a blank screen and nothing else happens.

I have a Support CD that came with the Motherboard, but that doesn't seem to want to work or at least it isn't AutoRunning. I'm at the point where I'm going to try and download a version of the BIOS and a Utility and recover via a Flash Drive. Sadly I didn't save the original BIOS file before updating so that isn't available to me unless I can find it for download.

Any advice on what to do?
rm57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2008, 04:36 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Try clearing the CMOS >Asus D/L P5N32-E, Bios, Drivers , Manual> https://support.asus.com/download/dow...el=P5N-E%20SLI
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 04:38 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,267
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System


Well i actually have the exact same board sitting on my shelf with exactly the same problem.
If the above don't work
One thing is to stick your Mobo cd in and see if you can access eze flash via <ALT> + <F2>

There is te crash free bios utility but i will have to look up the command to get into it, has been a long time since i have used it.

If all those fail I think you can get a new bios chip on ebay for the board for around 10 to 15 dollars.
If all else fails i would go down that route and they will even flash the chip to the latest bios available
blackduck30 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2008, 05:39 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
OS:



Ok well here's what I just tried.

1. I reformatted the USB Flash Drive to FAT format.
2. I downloaded the BIOS and Utility to the drive.
3. I unzipped the files.
4. I plugged the flash drive into my machine and started it up.

And...

nothing happened. Something must've happened to the board cause nothing I try seems to work.

To Wrench87: What do you mean by that? My board is the P5N32-E. Either way I'm very disappointed by Asus and the product I probably won't be buying from them again.
rm57 is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 12:33 AM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Clearing the CMOS wil sometimes recover from a bad BIos flash.
This is from a P5Q but the procedure is the same and the jumper is close to the same spot on the board and it is labeled the same.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:26 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
OS:



wow ok I just did what you listed there wrench and it worked perfectly and I was able to get into the BIOS setup. Now I was wondering after I'm in the BIOS should I try and reflash the new version or just set it back to defaults?
rm57 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:47 AM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



set it back to the defaults and take it for a ride to make sure all's well,
What problem are you trying to fix with the update?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 11:54 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
OS:



There was a issue while playing Assassin's Creed where after about 5-10 minutes of play a high pitched noise would come from the speakers and the internet would go out. Basically it seemed like the two PCI slots were interfering with each other. I don't think it was overheating, but it may be possible. I have two GPUs running in SLI. Basically there's a PCI slot, PCI express, and PCI slot so I have it setup with Sound Card, GPU, Ethernet Card.

EDIT: oh and this issue had occurred several times before, but AC really made it occur much more frequently.
rm57 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 01:24 PM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Sure sounds like a heat issue, what sound card do you have? And what Bios version do you currently have?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 10:36 AM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
OS:



I had the release version of the BIOS before and Sound Blast Audigy 2 sound card until I upgraded a week ago to Sound Blaster Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro Series. The noise occurred with both cards before I updated BIOS. It seems that after reflashing the BIOS to 1104 the issue has stopped, I also tweaked some of the BIOS settings this may or may not have had anything to do with it I have no idea cause I didn't test.

Anyways yesterday I was able to play Assassin's Creed without any problems for over an hour so I think the issue is solved and it was something on the BIOS that was causing it.
rm57 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 10:56 AM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Well that's good to hear.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts