Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Bench test and constant fast beeps

This is a discussion on Bench test and constant fast beeps within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. HI I have a Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 motherboard and with that i am using the intel xeon socket 1156 model x3440


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2010, 06:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
fishing4fun2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wisconsin usa
Posts: 45
OS: vista 64

My System

HI I have a Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 motherboard and with that i am using the intel xeon socket 1156 model x3440 cpu, I am doing a bench test B4 putting the new build in a computer and when i fire it up to get into the bios I get fast constant beeps, the manual says "continuous long beeps= Graphics card not inserted properly " // Also says " Continuous short beeps= Power error"

Well the video card fan starts up and so does the cpu fans, i have tried both graphic card slots did that with 3 different cards. so i am thinking its not the graphics cards causing the problem.

The keyboard dose not light up, and as soon as its turned on it will start beeping fast like 6 seconds latter, then it will shut down and restart and do the whole process over and over, so a little stuck with this problem, thinking it might be a "Power issue of some sort via what the manual says"

Any info will be quite helpful thanks

[
Just a update, I tried two additional psu's with still no luck, constant fast beeps then reboots and does it over again, // one stick of memory in and have changed that with three other sticks that were good so its not the memory. All fans spin when i fire it up and the lights on motherboard then the beeps come in.
Things i have done so far below....

Changed out 3 different psu's
changed three video cards
changed three different sticks of memory with just one in the motherboard
checked all connections, mothreboard is on its empty box

Running out of ideas here guys come on jump in and give me some of your thoughts... Also the cpu fan header is a 4 prong all my fans are 3 prong not sure if that would be it or not??
fishing4fun2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2010, 09:11 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

details of the other psu's

check the bios beep code here

www.bioscentral.com



dai is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 10:58 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 826
OS: win 7 64bit



Check any all jumper settings with your motherboard manual. make sure your connecting the 4-8 pin psu - cpu. I'm assuming your not getting any video whatsoever? make sure your cpu fan is attached in the right spot. Check your motherboard manual or online for cpu and ram compatibility against what you have. Test with a ps2 keyboard. detach power from wall outlet clear cmos and attach a different psu than the one you used the very first time you tested and with just 1 stick of ram.
Prophet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2010, 12:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
fishing4fun2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wisconsin usa
Posts: 45
OS: vista 64

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them

details of the other psu's

check the bios beep code here

www.bioscentral.com
Hi thanks for responding,
I can't even get into bios, it dose not even get that far.
Below is the list of parts i have tried with this motherboard.

PSU's --> #1 Pc Power & Cooling Turbo-cool 1 kilowatt
#2 Thermaltake toughpower 750w
#3 Fractal 800w
Everyone of the psu's power up the fans,motherboard lights, video cards.on this motherboard.

Graphic cards ---> Two identical Msi radion 4870's 1g tried each seperate
Evga GeForce 9800 gtx

When i turn on the power there fans start right up.

Memory ----> G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3-1600 pc3 12800 2048mb each Model F3-12800cl9d-4gbrl I have 4 sticks and tried each of them one at a time in all locations.

Motherboard ----> Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 socket 1156 rev 1.0

CPU ----> Intel Xeon 3440 socket 1156

Cpu cooler --->Noctua NH-U12p

These are the parts i am dealing with now but no luck, maybe the motherboard is bad??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
Check any all jumper settings with your motherboard manual. make sure your connecting the 4-8 pin psu - cpu. I'm assuming your not getting any video whatsoever? make sure your cpu fan is attached in the right spot. Check your motherboard manual or online for cpu and ram compatibility against what you have. Test with a ps2 keyboard. detach power from wall outlet clear cmos and attach a different psu than the one you used the very first time you tested and with just 1 stick of ram.
Thanks for the advice, I will check the manual for any jumper settings.

Yes no Video what so ever.

The cpu fan is attached to the right spot BUT on the motherboard it has the 4 pin males. The fans i have only have three hole // not sure if that is a big factor it would just mean that the motherboard won't be able to adjust the fan speed and record info in bios.

And i have done mostly the rest of what you mentioned Except for clearing cmos. so i will try that step now Thanks.
fishing4fun2 is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 01:33 PM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Are you using the 8 pin CPU power plug or 4 wire plug?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 02:06 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
fishing4fun2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wisconsin usa
Posts: 45
OS: vista 64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
Are you using the 8 pin CPU power plug or 4 wire plug?
The motherboard has the 8 pin so on every psu i have tried i have used the 8 pin connector.

Also as a note, i mentioned the parts i am using,
just now i tried the Stock intel cpu cooler Fan and plugged that into the motherboard cpu header, it spun fine along with the rest of the fans including the vga fan but like 6 seconds after that the beeps start and last for about 5 or 6 seconds then the system will reboot itself and fire up again, then like 6 or 7 seconds after that the beeps start again, I have let it do this like several times to see if it would straighten itself out but it dose not, it just does the process mentioned over and over lol

I did clear the cmos but that didn't work either.
fishing4fun2 is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 02:34 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Been looking at the Gigabyte site, they don't list the X3440 in compatibility lists at all, even though it should be compatible the bios may not support it, probably a long shot but do you have another 1156 socket CPU to try in the board?
https://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Support/...?Keyword=Q9500
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 08:55 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
fishing4fun2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wisconsin usa
Posts: 45
OS: vista 64

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
Been looking at the Gigabyte site, they don't list the X3440 in compatibility lists at all, even though it should be compatible the bios may not support it, probably a long shot but do you have another 1156 socket CPU to try in the board?
https://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Support/...?Keyword=Q9500
Hi I do not have another cpu for the 1156 socket, but i do have two other motherboards i could try the cpu on, one is a Gigabyte ga-p55m-ud2 and the other motherboard i have is a Biostar Tseries TP55 // I am really tempted on giving up on the current Gigabyte ga-p55A-ud3 motherboard i have tried about everything i know so i think your right about it being a issue with the processor,

The only thing i have not tried is to take off the cpu cooler and inspect the motherboard cpu pins and re-set the cpu and cpu cooler /// I have thought about doing that B 4 i give up on the motherboard.
Then if i do that and still no luck i can always try the Biostar motherboard or the other gigabyte board.

Worse case situation is that I will not be able to use the intel xeon processor and in that case i would try the amd x2 555 cpu build or the intel 8400 build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
Been looking at the Gigabyte site, they don't list the X3440 in compatibility lists at all, even though it should be compatible the bios may not support it, probably a long shot but do you have another 1156 socket CPU to try in the board?
https://www.gigabyte-usa.com/Support/...?Keyword=Q9500
Thanks for that link// last night i was on that same site but i could not get anything to work but with your link i can now navigate through everything over at the Gigabyte site.. yea maybe its a issue with the processor as they do not even list mine in any of there motherboards.. so as a last effort i will re-set the cpu and cpu cooler B 4 i throw in the towel on the gigabyte motherboard and migrate the chip to the biostar and try my luck there
fishing4fun2 is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 01:30 AM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



It's not on the Biostar support list either > https://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/...t.php?S_ID=443

I would contact both manufacturers though to make sure it's not supported.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 06:30 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
fishing4fun2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wisconsin usa
Posts: 45
OS: vista 64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
It's not on the Biostar support list either > https://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/...t.php?S_ID=443

I would contact both manufacturers though to make sure it's not supported.
Hi thanks for that link also.

Well i did what i said i was going to do as the last ditch effort to get it up and running/// no luck /// i took everything off and re-set the cpu & cooler and tried one last time.. But there is some good news below.

So i switched to the Biostar put everything in and on, fired it up and Bingo

I got right to bios, now its sitting in bios for about 30 min or so then i change the time and set it to factory defaults and then shoot for another stick of memory, so far so good, I liked the gigabyte board better with its options and solid caps but we use what we have on hand:)
fishing4fun2 is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 08:26 AM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Contact Gigabyte, it may be a bad board after talking to a buddy this morning, he has used a x3430 on a gigabyte H55 board so it just may be a bad board.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts