Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

ATX connected=Turns on ATX+P4 Connected=Flashing Lights

This is a discussion on ATX connected=Turns on ATX+P4 Connected=Flashing Lights within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a Lenovo J115 7387 Model Desktop. Couple days ago, I turned off the computer by going to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2010, 12:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Hello, I have a Lenovo J115 7387 Model Desktop.

Couple days ago, I turned off the computer by going to "start" and hitting the shut off key.

Then yesterday, as I tried to turn on the PC, there was a green flashing light in the front of the Tower. Not the back. The back had a green light that was full.

I do admit that I am not a computer person, but i did do couple of things.
1. I unplugged everything (of course with the power supply plugged out) and reinsterd everything.
2. I reset the CMOS
3. I took out the ATX & P4 power suppliers from the motherboard and tried to boot the p.c

While doing so, I found out that while the ATX is plugged in-the computer turns on.
However, when the P4 by itself or with the ATX is plugged in, the computer tower shows a blinking green light.

Even if i take out the power cord, the green light goes on for a minute or two (both in the back and the blinking one in the front.)

I'm not sure if you can run a PC without a P4 power thingy...

Anyways, the motherboard is L-NC51M and anyhelp will help me greatly!

Thank you.
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2010, 01:28 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



The P4 is the CPU power so while the fans may come on the board would not have actually started, the 24 pin atx connector is where the PSU gets to signal from pressing the power button to start so without it plugged it's not surprising that nothing happened.

Do you have a digital voltmeter to test with? > Test Your Power Supply
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 09:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
The P4 is the CPU power so while the fans may come on the board would not have actually started, the 24 pin atx connector is where the PSU gets to signal from pressing the power button to start so without it plugged it's not surprising that nothing happened.

Do you have a digital voltmeter to test with? > Test Your Power Supply

No I do not, but i'm pretty sure that the ATX works (24pin) and the 4Pin one does not...
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2010, 11:43 AM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



One working and the other not is unlikely, the 12v in the 24 pin comes from the same source as the 12v in the 4 pin.

You'll either need to check it with a voltmeter or swap in another Power Supply to test with.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
One working and the other not is unlikely, the 12v in the 24 pin comes from the same source as the 12v in the 4 pin.

You'll either need to check it with a voltmeter or swap in another Power Supply to test with.

Thank you for the suggestions.
I only have a laptop to test with... but i'm not going to risk that.
So, instead of getting a new PSU or a new Mobo, I bought a converter that uses the eltricity from the things that power a harddrive to the 4Pin (12v) thing. It should arrive no later than tuesday, and I will test that.


If that fails, does that mean the 4pin power connecter on the Mobo is dead?

if so, would I have to buy a nwhole new mobo?

Thanks again for the help!
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:41 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



As I stated above the 12v coming out of the power supply all comes from the same internal components if one is dead they all are.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:59 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
As I stated above the 12v coming out of the power supply all comes from the same internal components if one is dead they all are.
Oh okay. But when only the ATX power is plugged in to the mobo, (and the 4pin is not) The computer seems to turn on- the power goes on and the hardrives turn on..

Are you saying that the ATX power is different from the 12V? cause the power that comes out from the PSU that connects to the harddrives turns on the harddrives
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:10 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



No the 4 pin powers the CPU, the board is not turning on without the cpu being powered the drives may start and the fans can run but there is not any logic functions or post behavior, when the cpu is powered and it starts to post it's probably hanging, either from lack of power, bad ram, bad caps or even a bad drive can make it hang on post.
disconnect the power and data cables from all the drives, remove all but 1 stick of ram and see if it posts to the bios screen.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:45 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Okay, I tried that. I took off everything except 1 Piece of ram. I plugged my screen to the onboard VGA slot-and powered it on(without the P4 connected; only the ATX)
The power turns on, but nothing shows up on the screen
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 03:54 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



IF you don't have the 4 pin plugged in nothing is going to happen for the 3 rd time.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-11-2010, 07:03 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Oh I see. Sorry about that. what happened is that before I unplugged everything like you said, when the p4+atx power was connected, the computer would blink in the front but not trn on. After I removed everything but one ram, it turns on (with p4+atx) however nothing shows up onthe screen.

Any ideas?
Thanks :)
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 02:21 AM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



Swap out the ram with another stick of ram
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 09:58 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Okay I tried that. Stilll no go :[
However, something weird happened today. With the p4 and atx plugged in... I could feel that the pcu was getting power -because around the area, it was getting hot.

Yet, still no output, if a mouse is connected there is no light, and the cu fan isn't running either. The pci slots work though.
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 09:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Okay I tried that. Stilll no go :[
However, something weird happened today. With the p4 and atx plugged in... I could feel that the pcu was getting power -because around the area, it was getting hot.

Yet, still no output, if a mouse is connected there is no light, and the cu fan isn't running either. The pci slots work though.
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 12:26 PM   #15
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



It's probably either a bad power supply or bad motherboard, you'll need to either swap in a power supply or take it to someone who can.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-12-2010, 10:53 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Okay, Just bought a new 500W PSU online. It should be coming soon.

Thanks!
Timmmmmfive is offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 12:24 AM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



our system is pcie the lowest we recommend is a 80+ quality 550w

what did you buy

brand
model
wattage



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts