Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Asus ram memory upgrade.

This is a discussion on Asus ram memory upgrade. within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I built my computer a few years ago with a Asus P4S8X motherboard. It has been terrific so far. Today


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2007, 09:24 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
OS:



I built my computer a few years ago with a Asus P4S8X motherboard. It has been terrific so far. Today I tried to install another memory module of 1GB. I already have two 512 installed. When I installed the 1GB it would not boot my system. So I tried to narrow it down. I took out the 512 memory and just installed the 1GB and it worked fine. Then I installed one 512 and it worked fine along with the 1GB. When having all of them installed it fails. They are all Kingston and I got them from them.

I am thinking that I may have a bad slot on the board. I can take up to 3 GB on the ram. All are 333 DDr.

Maybe I should think about changing the board to a dual core?

Any suggestions.

Doug
dtrandall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2007, 01:24 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



look in your mobo manual for population rules.
manic is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 03:25 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
OS:



I have talked to Asus and they say I can combine any configuration up to 3 GB. I do have 1.5 GB now working on my system. When I add the additional 512 of memory in the open slot I get the following error. Missing or Corrupt file windows\system32\config\system. "you can attempt to repair by starting windows setup using original setup CD-ROM. Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair."

Is this something I should try to fix or just leave it alone until I upgrade the mobo later to a dual core. I probably won't upgrade for a year or so.

Thanks
dtrandall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2007, 04:17 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


try resetting the cmos after the ram is installed


Switch off the power supply unit or pull off the power cord. There is a CMOS jumper near the battery. Change the jumper position from default 1-2 to 2-3 for one minute to discharge the CMOS data, check your motherboard for the correct pin numbers, and then put it back to default 1-2. Switch on the power supply unit or pull in the power cord. Press the power-on button to boot up system. If it works, hit "Del" key to enter the BIOS setup page to do correct settings.

Or pull the battery out for 15 to 20 minutes after you unplug the machine de-static yourself before entering.
speedster123 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 08:27 PM   #5
I helped the forums.
 
twajetmech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,430
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System


I might add, that sometimes when adding memory you need to bump the ddr ref voltage up a notch (2.65V, 2.7V, max 2.75V) You may also want to download and run memtest86 and run it while the new memory is in place. Note, even though all the memory is from Kingston, it could still have different chips, different cas latancy, different timings and different voltage requirements. you can try looser timings of 3-3-3-8 as well.
twajetmech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts