Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Asus A7V8X IDE and SATA setup

This is a discussion on Asus A7V8X IDE and SATA setup within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I was wondering if someone here could shed some light on my issue. I'm using the A7V8X mother


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2005, 09:32 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



Hello all,

I was wondering if someone here could shed some light on my issue. I'm using the A7V8X mother board which has the sata support (though from what i've read here and elsewhere i am questioning it's validity) And all i want to do is set up the system so that I have my IDE boot drive and a secondary, non-raid, SATA drive. There's got to be a way to cofigure it this way, but i just cannot get it to work.. (in the process i lost all partitions on my ide and had to start over.... oops) if you need any more info on my specs just ask, and thanks in advance for any help, for, my brain hurts.

~DarkFire


on a side note, it amuses me that ASUS has it's own mother board section
DarkFire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2005, 12:02 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp


You will have to enter bios, turn raid off, if not when you boot bios detects
the sata drive, and figures you have a raid array, when that is not the case.
You should also be set to enhanced mode, set bios to auto detect drives.
That should get you started. Ive never ran a ide drive,,and a sata drive
separtely like that, but I would think that it should work.
manic is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:19 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Wink

The poster above hit the nail on the head / make your bios modifications / and yes they system will run an IDE drive and Sata drive in combination

regards

joe
linderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2005, 01:59 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



I've looked at the BIOS In search for the Sata settings, And indeed there should be a setting for that, but apparently no, this model is odd like thatm, many people have had similar questions regarding this model...but anyway

when i boot the system I know the mother board detects the drive, there is the Promise FastTrack376 warning screen telling me to define an array, But from what i've gathered, I'm not trying to define an array, since that would be for a RAID config. Am I to insall another driver or can my mother board just not do what i want? B/c It seems that i should be able to more or less "plug and play", but since there doesn't seem to be a BIOS section for this i'm just stuck.
DarkFire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts