Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Another dead P4C800-e deluxe

This is a discussion on Another dead P4C800-e deluxe within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. well, I guess its my turn to deal with Asus's supposedly PITA warranty dept... built a nice system, turned it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2005, 05:26 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,045
OS:



well, I guess its my turn to deal with Asus's supposedly PITA warranty dept...

built a nice system, turned it on, and just as I was setting the system clock, POOF!...fried it...part of the MoBo melted basically...from the backside, it would be just to the left of the middle upper (cpu side) screw...right where those little paths of metal make a jog...sweet..made my New Years day...NOT...what do you expect from something made by slave labor?
Wozer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2005, 05:40 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,478
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Hi Wozer,

Well what do you think happened?
I never had any trouble with Asus I assumed they were a repitable brand name.
Are you having trouble returning it?
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 06:26 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,045
OS:


well, I did an online rma as they were closed yesterday, which sucked as I had the day off since my boss was sick..the online rma request was ignored apparently, and I had to waste cell phone minutes calling and waiting...so now I gotta wait till thursday to mail it off to them as I don't like skipping lunch to go to the post office...then I gotta wait 10 days for them to decide whats up..then wait forever for the UPS brown to crawl its way here...so much fun...NOT..

as to what happened, I haven't the foggiest...I was careful, checked to make sure mobo wasn't touching anywheres, so I have no clue as to whyfried itself...was hoping some uber guru here might have a clue...
Wozer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2005, 06:35 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,478
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


I was going to ask if the mobo was touching anywheres but I didn't want to make you feel ....hmmm ... how can I put it lightly......stupid
I wouldnt want to make you feel like that at all and not even have you think that I was assuming you didn't know what you were doing...... I'll shut up now

Anyhow, everyone makes mistakes. Even if it isn't your fault
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 06:43 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,045
OS:


to say I know what I'm doing is relative...I dont build computers for a living, I build houses...I do know some of the basics about boxes, only built one before this, but have worked on a fair number for various reasons...

what I don't know is how to test every damn part of the board to figure it out, and why should I??? I'm an enduser, not a manufacturer...it shouldn't be my responsibilty to lets say have to figure out that something like a screw mounting the mobo is causing a short...that is a defect as said screws are there to hold the mobo to the standoffs...
Wozer is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 07:46 PM   #6
Guru
 
clintfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,315
OS: XP Pro


It just sounds like one of the parts failed in the CPU voltage regulation section. It is probably very, very rare, but if it's going to happen anywhere, this is where most of the current is drawn on the board, therefore the greatest potential for, er... smoke. RMA is the correct course of action; it is a almost unquestionably a materials defect --like a shorted capacitor-- and I seriously doubt Asus will give you any trouble about the RMA.

But keep in mind that this really was a major failure, complete with fireworks. The power supply and/or CPU may have been damaged by the failure of the mobo circuitry, especially if the CPU experienced any significant overvoltage. So with a new mobo in hand, you could still have some trouble. If there's any way to get the CPU or supply tested (or exchanged) while you wait, it could be well worth it.

-clintfan
clintfan is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 08:09 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,045
OS:


thanks for the advice clintfan...I hope the spankin new antec 550W psu aint fried, not to mention the hard to find 3.0 northwood cpu...grrrr...guess I can toss em into my p4c800 non-e deluxe board and see what happens...

now that would suck, wouldn't it?...faulty mobo fries 300 bucks of peripherals...
Wozer is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 08:48 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,616
OS:


Good power supplies inherently have good protection circuits, the processor may not be as well protected. But you may get lucky. Hope for the best.
batty_professor is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 03:31 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,045
OS:


well...I guess Antec PSUs aren't all that great...lol...

got the MoBo back last Thursday, and luckily decided it would really behoove me to have the PSU checked...I hadn't planned on gettting the board back till like yesterday, so I had planned to have it checked Saturday like I did...it was fried (damn glad I didn't put everything back together and find out the hard way...)

the way I look at the evidence, methinks the MoBo fried the PSU, as if the PSU had fried the MoBo, I think a lot more would have gotten damaged...like the processor, video card, etc...but, if it was the PSU which fried the board, then damn good thing indeed I had it checked out...luckily I got that piece locally, so there was no problem getting a warranty replacement...

so..at about 2 a.m. on Sunday morning I had it up and running and was installing the OS (happy moment indeed)...P4 Northwood 3.0, 3 hard drives, dvdrom/cd burner, and soon to have 2 250GB WD drives in a Sata Raid array for streaming samples for audio work...
Wozer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts