Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

a7n8x 2.0 - bios/cmos issue?

This is a discussion on a7n8x 2.0 - bios/cmos issue? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey all, thanks in advance for your help! I've got an a7n8x-deluxe 2.0 with an athlon xp 2000+ I was


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2003, 05:59 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
OS:


Cry

Hey all, thanks in advance for your help!

I've got an a7n8x-deluxe 2.0 with an athlon xp 2000+

I was fiddling around with overclocking settings and memory setting and i've encountered a strange problem. When the CPU overclocking settings didn't work, I could reboot and the bios would load default "safe" CPU serttings. However, when I fiddled with memory settings, the bios would not reset after rebooting with failed settings. I manually reset the CMOS, and the computer boots to bios defaults with no problem. BUT, if I change ANYTHING in the bios settings (even if it is just the system time!) when i "save and exit" the computer will not reboot!!!! ***? When this happens, the only way I can get things back is to manually reset the CMOS! The only thing I can think of that might have gone wrong is that I "fried" something when altering vcore settings? But I don't see how that could make this problem....

Need help, cuz i dont want to run my computer with default bios settings *shudder*

-joe
josephn78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2003, 01:12 PM   #2
Guru
 
clintfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,315
OS: XP Pro


Try replacing the CMOS battery?
clintfan is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 01:29 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
OS:


doing that now. Read somepalce that the batteries shipped on the a7n8x's were shoddy and causes problems. Hope this works!

-joe
josephn78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2003, 01:57 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
OS:


Tried it, didn't work. Desperate now...c'mon peeps gimme some ideas!

-joe
josephn78 is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 03:20 PM   #5
SPEEDO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Did you unplug the computer before you cleared the CMOS?

And have you checked to see if there is a bios upgrade for your Mobo?

Just a thought!
 
Old 09-24-2003, 03:26 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
OS:


i do have the latest BIOS. I did not unplug the computer before i cleared the CMOS, why?

-joe
josephn78 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts