Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

4 sticks of RAM

This is a discussion on 4 sticks of RAM within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a question similar to chamelious. I have a mother board with 4 slots. As it happens, 2GB is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 168
OS: ubuntu 11.04



I have a question similar to chamelious.
I have a mother board with 4 slots. As it happens, 2GB is the max it will recognize.
in my spare parts I have 4 512's, all kingston, same model etc.
And I have 2 1GB's.
Does anyone know which would run faster? I am thinking of doing the 4x512 to use them up, some of my other systems only have 2 slots, so that would be better place to use the 1GB's.
thanks techs
BD
eye5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-08-2011, 07:37 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by chamelious View Post
My m/ board has 4 slots for ram, 2 on "channel A" and 2 more on B. I currently have a stick of 256 kingston in one of each channels slots running dual channel. Can i add another two sticks of 256 in the other 2 slots and get 1gb of dual channel memory??
Your best option would be to purchase a matched pair of 2X1 GB sticks. That will give you 2GB & Dual Channel operation.
If we knew what we were working with we could be more definitive.
Go to Crucial's site to determine what and how much RAM you can use.
RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, SSD at Crucial.com



Tyree is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:40 PM   #3
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by eye5 View Post
I have a question similar to chamelious.
I have a mother board with 4 slots. As it happens, 2GB is the max it will recognize.
in my spare parts I have 4 512's, all kingston, same model etc.
And I have 2 1GB's.
Does anyone know which would run faster? I am thinking of doing the 4x512 to use them up, some of my other systems only have 2 slots, so that would be better place to use the 1GB's.
thanks techs
BD
Please start your own thread and include your PC Specs.
All Mobo's are not the same so we can't offer knowledgeable advise if we don't know what we're working with.
PC Specs?
Pre-Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built-Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
Posting in another person's thread is confusing and only makes it more difficult to assist you.



Tyree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2011, 05:48 PM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,823
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Two thoughts.

First, some boards have issues using 4 sticks of RAM. This was mostly with older boards (which appears to be what you are using if there is a 2GB limit).

Second, most MB's run slower with 4 sticks than they do with 2 sticks as they slow the timings so that they can communicate with 4 sticks.

With that said, try it. And assuming it works, benchtest to verify which is faster.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with New Motherboard - won't boot with 2 sticks of RAM, just 1
Hi everyone! I could use a little help with this nagging issue I have with my computer that I built myself. Everything has been fine for years until the PCI-E slot of my last mobo died and I replaced it with an MSI G41TM-E43 with my Core 2 Duo 1.8 processor. I have 2 sticks of RAM - Corsair, 1...
weedandbombs Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 05-06-2011 04:02 PM
Weird hardware failure. (Computer randomly reboots/shuts down possible RAM issue)
System: Windows 7 RAM (2 sticks): Corsair DDR2 XMS2 800MHz 2038MB MB: Asus M4A785-M CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 620 HD: W.D. Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB PSU: Logisys 550w PS550A_BK About a week ago, my computer just randomly went black, it randomly restarted itself, it continued to do so...
SnowBum Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 11 04-06-2011 08:21 PM
[SOLVED] I hate ram.
Okay, so I'm getting rather irritated at my computer and my luck with RAM in general here, I was hoping somebody could enlighten me. Okay, so for christmas I ordered 2 x 1GB sticks of ram and put them into my already 1GB computer (2 x 512) to equal what I was hoping was going to be 3GB ram. For now...
Hudos RAM and Power Supply Support 22 04-01-2011 10:40 AM
Running 2 sticks of ram
Just completed a custom build... Specs: HD - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" RAM - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBRM Video Card - EVGA 01G-P3-1366-TR GeForce GTX 460 SE...
guns333 RAM and Power Supply Support 3 03-18-2011 08:39 AM
Corsair Ram issues
Hello all. Im new to this site and have been literally trawling the net and a lot of forums looking for anyone with my problems or similar. I feel I have gone as far as I can go with this and it has brought me here. I would be very grateful if I could be advised but I will warn that this may...
sparky05084 RAM and Power Supply Support 4 03-12-2011 06:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts