Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

1080p Resolution Buffers

This is a discussion on 1080p Resolution Buffers within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm having problems getting 1080p resolution without significant buffering when viewing YouTube videos. The computer is a custom built gaming


Like Tree10Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2019, 06:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



I'm having problems getting 1080p resolution without significant buffering when viewing YouTube videos. The computer is a custom built gaming machine I found set out on the curb. It's about 10 years old and I can't determine who made the MB. I'm using a Nvidia GT-730 graphics card and an HDMI cable attached to a 32" Vizio television. The Vizio gets 1080p resolution.

I'm guessing a newer CPU may give better results, but that may not be the only solution. Will it take an intel i5 or i7 CPU? Perhaps a better graphics card? Any help will be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5135.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	276.4 KB
ID:	323642   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5129.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	430.2 KB
ID:	323644   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5132.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	323.5 KB
ID:	323646  

manhattanman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2019, 01:32 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


That's a big display for that GPU. Do you have a smaller display to test with?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 03:17 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



Yes, I have a smaller monitor. Remember, I'm using a Nvidia GT 730 graphics card that wasn't original to the machine. Initially, I attached a 24" Lenovo ThinkVision monitor w/1200p resolution and there was no buffering on 1080p. Also, I noticed that when clicking on the YouTube "Settings" resolution wheel the resolutions all started with 1080p, as opposed to showing lower resolutions with the Vizio. I needed to manually change the resolution to 1080p with the Vizio and it buffered - even on 720p resolution.
manhattanman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2019, 04:31 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 214
OS:

My System


It looks like you have a variant of the ZOTAC GeForce 9300 - GF9300-B-E in mATX form-factor. It used the nvidia chipset as opposed to an Intel chipset. That's why you see the Hybrid SLI moniker on the chip in your pic.

https://www.zotac.com/ee/product/mai...c-geforce-9300

https://www.tweaktown.com/pressrelea...orm/index.html

I would guess that as old as that platform is a CPU upgrade won't do much good but a better GPU that's compatible would help, OS depending.
SpareChange is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 06:22 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Note that only one of the GT 730 versions (GDDR5) will give 'acceptable' performance, the others are bandwidth limited (and would probably give rise to increased kernel CPU usage as well):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GT 730.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	323654  
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 06:23 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



I'm running Win 10 Pro. What GPU would provide the best performance? Remember, I said the 24" Lenovo ThinkVision 1200p resolution monitor didn't buffer at 1080p resolution. Are you implying the Vizio's 32" format is what's causing the resolution problem? Will a beefier GPU solve this problem on the Vizio set?
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 06:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
Note that only one of the GT 730 versions (GDDR5) will give 'acceptable' performance, the others are bandwidth limited (and would probably give rise to increased kernel CPU usage as well):
Thanks. I'll check that tomorrow. Will the preferred GT 730 solve this problem or should I be looking for a better card. I know the card I'm using is considered obsolete.
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 06:33 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


What's the Desktop (Windows) resolution on the 32", same as the GeForce setting?

Which browser?

Not sure what the problem is yet, some suspects need ruling out.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 06:38 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



This is the 32" Vizio television in question. I'm not sure about the two resolution settings. I'm using the most current Firefox browser. I'll check the settings tomorrow.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5203 (2).jpg
Views:	25
Size:	124.0 KB
ID:	323656  
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-27-2019, 09:26 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



Wasn't able to get back to the project today, but noticed in SpareChange's #4 reply that the second linked Zotac Geforce 9300 page describes the (2008 year) product as follows:

"NVIDIA PureVideo HD provides the ZOTAC GeForce 9300 platform with Full HD 1080p hardware decode acceleration for smooth and vivid high-definition video playback capabilities. An HDCP compliant HDMI output enables compatibility with the latest high-definition TVs and monitors for a complete high-definition experience. DVI and VGA outputs grace the ZOTAC GeForce 9300 with compatibility with the latest digital and older analog displays."

The VL-320M Vizio television has 1080p capabilities, 3 HDMI ports and was introduced in 2009, so both components are approximately the same age.

This suggests that the resolution buffering at 1080p may be something other than component failure. According to specs both components should be jointly compatible.

Perhaps a WiFi band width issue?
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 06:07 AM   #11
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Test with another source such as a 1080P video file. If the file plays without stuttering, then you knows it's not a hardware/gpu issue.

Also, whenever you suspect a "wifi" issue (for any hardware), connect via ethernet. You can rule it out by testing 1000 times faster than asking for help.
manhattanman likes this.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 09:43 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



[QUOTE=JimE;
Also, whenever you suspect a "wifi" issue (for any hardware), connect via ethernet. You can rule it out by testing 1000 times faster than asking for help.

Spectrum supplies my WiFi, but I don't think my plan includes an ethernet connection. Extra charge, if I'm not mistaken.
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 04:21 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: U.S.
Posts: 1
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bit SP 2


[QUOTE=manhattanman;7738702][QUOTE=JimE;
Also, whenever you suspect a "wifi" issue (for any hardware), connect via ethernet. You can rule it out by testing 1000 times faster than asking for help.

Spectrum supplies my WiFi, but I don't think my plan includes an ethernet connection. Extra charge, if I'm not mistaken.[/QUOTE]


There shouldn't be an extra charge for an Ethernet connection. The gateway/modem should have at least 1 LAN port.

That being said, internet bandwidth, line quality, peering points, latency, jitter and other network related considerations can be contributing factors.

Do you know what speed tier you are paying for? Try testing your connection at speedtest.net.

There are also tools that can test whether your ISP is throttling connections to certain streaming sites. I don't currently have the links available at the moment, but Goigle should be able to point you in the right direction.
manhattanman likes this.
NMITGuy is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 04:32 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Terra in Sol system
Posts: 9
OS: Linux / Windows 7 Pro 64bit



It may be an OEM board that went into one of the major manufacturer PCs. Belarc Advisor should tell you the make of motherboard or at least the model number. With that you should be able to track down the manufacturer.

I have found that to be an invaluable utility over the years for determining the genealogy of mystery mobos. It's free.
manhattanman likes this.
mdk1000 is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 04:50 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Ultimate 32



1) It does not matter how large a display is, 1080p is 1080p whether it is on a cell phone screen or a 15-foot wide projection screen, the computer couldn't care less what size video display is connected to it.

2) That processor was used starting in 2010 and was probably mostly passed up by newer/faster processors by 2012. That makes the computer at least 7 years old.

3) 7 years ago Wi-Fi was stupid slow... too slow for 1080p. Suggest if you are using Wi-Fi, that you update that if you insist on keeping a 7 year old computer working . If Wi-Fi is built-in to the motherboard, though, you would have to upgrade Wi-Fi with a USB Wi-Fi adapter BUT, the USB ports are likely to be USB 2.0 so not very fast. USB 3.0 is 10 times faster than USB 2.0 and USB 3.1 is 20 times faster than USB 2.0. Still, 2.0 MIGHT be fast enough for 1080p video.

4) If you are using Ethernet, and it is still too slow, it may be 10 Mbps Ethernet which will be too slow in the real-world to stream 1080p without a fair bit of buffering. You should upgrade to at least 100 Mbps Ethernet, though today, most systems except the least expensive models, are comming with 1000 Mbps Ethernet (1 Gbps).

5) For 1080p video streaming, you need an internet connection speed of at least 25 Mbps (try speedtest.net to see what your internet speed really is, rather than believing what your ISP says your speed is).

6) There may also be some sort of freeware that will tell you how fast or slow your Ethernet speed is... I've never looked for one, but seems like this should be easy enough to find.

7) If you share the internet connection with someone else and they are doing something online at the same time you are trying to stream 1080p, it's possible they are using enough of the internet bandwidth to keep you from being able to download video fast enough. Speedtest.net can tell you what your internet speed is if you have a buffering problem... run speedtest.net right after a bought of buffering to see if your connection speed is slower than usual.
manhattanman likes this.
HavFun is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 05:34 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



These are the speed test results on WiFi. They were tested on another machine:

See the rank
Ping
network delays
* 22 ms
Download
data getting speed
* 3.59 Mb/s
Upload
data sending speed
* 1.06 Mb/s
share:
IP Address
74.64.103.*
Server
SpeedTest.net.in
Compare SPEED TEST results
Your result
3.59 Mb/s
average speed in United States
31.36 Mb/s
world average speed
14.91 Mb/s
ISP: Time Warner Cable test time: 17:54:34, 29-05-2019

What does exactly your result mean?

700 MB movie can be downloaded in 26m 39s

300 MB movie can be downloaded in 11m 25s

10 MB file can be downloaded in 22s

2 MB picture can be downloaded in 4s

700 MB movie can be send in 1h 30m 9s

300 MB movie can be send in 38m 38s

10 MB MP3 file can be send in 1m 17s

2 MB picture can be send in 15s

Your ping is good. All online games like Counter Strike or Warcraft will run without any lags.

Compare your result with other technologies speed
Cable 120 Mbps
vDSL 80 Mbps
vDSL 40 Mbps
vDSL 20 Mbps
aDSL 10 Mbps
aDSL 4 Mbps
Your test result

Learn more about Internet connection technologies
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 07:05 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Bay, CA
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10 Pro



To get unbuffered 1080 video from an online stream (like YouTube), you need a download speed that is consistently 25.00 Mb/s or more. Your Speedtest result is 3.59Mb/s, which is significantly slower than 25.00Mb/s. Donít know how your connection with Spectrum is, but your speed is slower than a 3G smartphone. Are you connecting to a WiFi source that is outside of your home (aka hotspot).
burndonesinkcha is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 06:19 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



I've just been talking to my ISP (Spectrum) and apparently I'll need more band width to get 1080p resolution. That improved plan, which provides 200 Mb/s, would increase my bill by $31.00 a month, or $372.00 a year. Guess I'll just have to settle for a good 720p resolution on the Vizio.

I still haven't checked the Nvidia GT 730 graphics card to see if it's the faster GDDR5 model. Assuming it's not the GDDR5 and knowing what I know now about the band width issue, is there any reason to get a better card? Will it improve resolution performance?

Strange thing is, as previously mentioned, when connecting the machine to the ThinkVision 1200p resolution monitor, I was able to get 1080p without buffering.
manhattanman is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 06:37 AM   #19
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Just for clarification:

"1080P" = 1920 x 1080 resolution (16:9 AR)
"1200P" = 1920 x 1200 resolution (16:10 AR)

If you are using a 1080P source, it will be a 1920x1080 resolution. In other words, both screens will display the same, and in most cases (depending on the AR flag), the 1200 monitor is most likely to have black bars top and bottom.

The only reason that I can think of that a monitor would have any effect, would be if you are not selecting the correct desktop resolution. It shouldn't be a hardware issue. The GPU port and cable are the same, and it shouldn't be the monitor/TV.

Also, as you are using YouTube for testing, you are introducing bandwidth, the web browser, and other possible config issues into the equation (such as having the video play full screen and having the incorrect desktop resolution...which causes the video to be scaled multiple times).

Having said all of that, if it's working correctly with one monitor and not the other, it's not a hardware issue. More likely a configuration issue of some sort.
manhattanman likes this.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 07:35 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 189
OS: Windows XP Version 2002



Thanks, Jim:
The Nvidia GT 730DE Z97011 card is model #P2132. I see no reference to the GDDR5 spec. It's currently downloading a GeForce Game Ready driver.
manhattanman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts