Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Console Gaming Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] PS4 Failed to initialize

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] PS4 Failed to initialize within the Console Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. HI GUYS! Console trouble here. any pros out in the midst wanting to give me a hand would be much


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2014, 08:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Posts: 154
OS: Windows 10 Home

My System

Send a message via MSN to badnecros

HI GUYS!

Console trouble here. any pros out in the midst wanting to give me a hand would be much appreciated. i am tech savy enough to do most component swaps, so dont hesitate to put those as responses if thats the case. i just dont want to go buy a component, and have it not be the issue is all.

So my PS4 wont boot. it mostly just hits the Playstation logo on a black screen, then shuts down. occasionally, (once every 5 or so boots) it wil say something along the lines of being unable to read the system data.

I boot the device in Safe mode, and try each of the menu options, in order.

1) Reboot the PS4,
- Reboots the PS4 and causes same issue.

2) Change resolution,
- Reboots the PS4, and causes the same issue.

3) Update software,
- A serious error has occurred (CE-30785-3)

4) Restore default settings,
- An Error has occurred (CE-30787-5)

5) Rebuild Database,
- An Error has occurred (CE-30787-5)

6) Intitialize PS4,
- Cannot initialize (CE-33566-3)

7) Initialize PS4 (Reinstall system software)
- Cannot initialize (CE-33566-3)

All this being said, ive also been using a USB drive to do the updates. ive had the USB drive formatted to FAT, FAT32, NTFS, as well as exFAT, and the updates dont work on any of them. i downloaded the update from Playstation.com, to ensure proper file configuration, and i had it stored in the USB with the file structure, "PS4>UPDATE>PS4UPDATE.PUP"


Any help on this would be great guys. thanks a bundle in advance.

P.S, i say guys as a non-gender orientation. i know there are plenty of female techies out there, and i respect each of you too. please dont take offence when i use the term. :)
badnecros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2014, 10:11 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You haven't opened the device have you?

Since the unit is new, claim your warranty.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 03:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Posts: 154
OS: Windows 10 Home

My System

Send a message via MSN to badnecros

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
You haven't opened the device have you?

Since the unit is new, claim your warranty.
i would rather know why its doing what its doing personally. i was just curious if anyone knew. i like to learn. shipping it to sony, so they can "replace minor components" thank you for your suggestion though. if i was anyone else, i would do that :)
badnecros is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2014, 03:41 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


The error codes and failures can be anything. Console errors are vary rarely published as the manufacturer always takes care of it.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 03:47 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge Ontario
Posts: 154
OS: Windows 10 Home

My System

Send a message via MSN to badnecros

HEY GUYS!
I fixed my own issue. its the hard drive. need to replace it. figured anyone would like to know if they are techy much like me. just knowing makes it better. i had a spare PS3 3rd gen Slim hanging about, and tossed the HDD from that in. all fixed up.
badnecros is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 04:43 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,491
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Glad to hear!
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selection Links
Hi, I've ended up with Selection Links attached to Google Chrome. I've tried to remove it in the usual, low-tech savvie ways and it's not worked. It is not listed in the Programs and Features/Uninstall a Program section of the Control Tab. Under Chrome Extensions, it is listed but...
mthwrd Resolved HJT Threads 42 04-05-2013 06:36 PM
[SOLVED] probable malware on HP laptop
I was asked to fix an HP laptop running Win 7 Home (German). It has been running very slowly and I suspect malware as the cause. While running dds and gmer on it, it bluescreened 4 times and also the Avira antivirus picked up a few virii in different areas. I have no boot or installation disks...
rhorton Resolved HJT Threads 61 02-19-2012 08:51 AM
no internet access after virus
recently had win 7 2012 virus, removed virus, now cannot connect to any internet. troubleshooting states can not detect networks proxy settings. i dont know what any of following report means, but thought it might help. Farbar Service Scanner Ran by haley (administrator) on 09-01-2012...
cody7880 Resolved HJT Threads 65 01-18-2012 10:32 AM
Random/rare STOP0x1E
Been fighting against this one for a while now and couldn't figure out the cause, especially since the crashes come and go and are very rare... anyway, here is the data: OS - Windows 7 x64 SP1 OEM (MSDNAA version) Age of system: one and a half years Age of OS installation: a month ...
Soukyuu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 09-26-2011 11:16 AM
Trouble with Directx 10
When trying to install a redist for a game i was going to play, this error comes up: "An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXERROR.log and Directx.log in your Windows folder to determine the problem" This is my DXError.log: -------------------- module: dxupdate(Sep 4 2009),...
xAtlas PC Gaming Support 1 07-29-2011 01:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts