Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > File and Application Sharing

User Tag List

Sharing Files on Home Network

This is a discussion on Sharing Files on Home Network within the File and Application Sharing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hope this it right forum. Problem, four computers on home network. Toshiba P755 recently upgraded to W10 Home, Dell Inspirion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2020, 10:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


Hope this it right forum.
Problem, four computers on home network.
Toshiba P755 recently upgraded to W10 Home, Dell Inspirion W10 Home, Custom HTPC desktop running W10 Pro and Custom Desktop running W7 Ult.
Problem child is the Toshiba P755. It can see and access all the other W10 computers but not the W7. W7 can see and access all W10 computers.
Have tried various fixes found by googling but so far none have worked.
Toshiba Satellite P755 laptop (W10 Home)
Dell Inspirion 5555 laptop (W10 Home)
Custom HTPC desktop (W10 Pro)
Custom Desktop (W7 Ult).
Any suggestions appreciated.
tbird93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2020, 10:17 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I would start over by deleting existing groups and reading this: https://www.windowscentral.com/how-s...-local-network before recreating the network.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-13-2020, 10:23 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


I've viewed that page but my understanding is Homegroup was removed from W10 with the 1803 build. I'm running build 1909. Is it still there but just hidden because it doesn't appear in Control Panel anymore and doesn't show up in search?
tbird93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2020, 10:25 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I was thinking this didn't work for you: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4092694 choosing How do I share files or folders over a network now?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-13-2020, 11:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


I'm not having any problem sharing files on the W10 laptop. W7 machine can see the laptop and access all shared files on it. It's the other way around. Also Network Discovery is turned on both computers as is ipv4 and ipv6. All the other W10 computers can access the P755 laptop. May try flushing dns to see that would but doubt it. Computers have the same network name. Passwords are the same on all computers for syncing. Homegroup disabled on W7 desktop. Disabling Eset Firewall didn't help. Worst scenario I guess would be a repair install but have a lot of other gadgets on this network(3 Rokus, 6 smartplugs, smart tv, 2 android tablet and phone and 1 garage door opener as well as the mentioned computers.
tbird93 is offline  
Old 01-13-2020, 12:47 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Control Panel>Network & Sharing Center>Change Advanced Sharing Settings. All units must match either Private or Public.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-13-2020, 02:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


W7 set to Home/Work. No option for private. W10 set to private. Neither one are set to Public.
tbird93 is offline  
Old 01-13-2020, 02:49 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


Fired up another W7 Pro machine. The Toshiba P755 can't see it either though other can.All are on the same network. Same network settings on all W10 comps. I'm usually proficient with computer but networking has always been my Achilles heal. I'm baffled. Just doesn't make any sense. If I'm not mistaken everything work after upgrading but haven't make any drastic changes to PC.
tbird93 is offline  
Old 01-13-2020, 04:52 PM   #9
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


The Windows 7 computer might be set to Uundiscoverable. Change by: Control Panel>Network & Internet>Homegroup>Share with other home computers
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-14-2020, 06:57 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


I enabled Homegroup on W7 desktop and rebooted. Now the W7 shows in network from the Toshiba. I never used Homegroup so don't understand why it;s working right now. Could it be because the Toshiba was W7 before upgrade W10? Network Discovery was turned on in Homegroup also.
tbird93 is offline  
Old 01-14-2020, 07:40 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


Thank you Corday. Will see how it goes.
tbird93 is offline  
Old 01-14-2020, 01:44 PM   #12
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 653
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


What version of Windows 10 are you on?

This is interesting, as the Homegroup feature was removed from Windows 10 several versions ago (1909 is current, and I can't recall whether it was 1809 or 1803 where it left).

These days I generally use Public Folder sharing as a reliable mechanism for sharing among machines. Trying to get the settings right, and the login credentials correct, across machines when using individual user folders is just too messy in my opinion.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline  
Old 01-14-2020, 02:21 PM   #13
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


For now it appears to be working.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-14-2020, 08:48 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
tbird93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 78
OS: Win 7 SP1 Ultimate,Windows 7 Pro SP1, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home

My System


britechguy, all W10 machines are 1909 build. You are correct, Homegroup was removed with the 1803 build. That's why I can't figure out why enabling Homegroup on the W7 box worked. Windows is just weird sometimes.
tbird93 is offline  
Old 01-14-2020, 09:02 PM   #15
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 653
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird93 View Post
britechguy, all W10 machines are 1909 build.
I can very safely assure you that this is not so. I just had to upgrade one from 1903 to 1909 yesterday. There are many still in 1903 (and some older, but that's due to something being quite broken).

But, after all the complaining from certain quarters about fully automatic feature updates (at least on Home), Microsoft finally changed things such that the end user has to grant consent for the feature update to proceed. Many do not know this and as a result many are going to fall behind, at least until some "drop dead" date passes sans consent, at which point I have to believe Windows 10 would download and apply it. I haven't yet seen this happen, and really wish that Microsoft had left the original feature update scheme in place.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 06:15 AM   #16
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I think OP meant all his were 1909.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 06:52 AM   #17
Windows Tech Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 653
OS: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit, Version 1909

My System


Sorry, brain fart. I somehow disconnected @tbird93 as having been the OP in my mind last night, hence the response.
__________________
Brian
It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not.
~ André Gide
britechguy is offline  
Old 01-15-2020, 08:55 PM   #18
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by britechguy View Post
Sorry, brain fart. I somehow disconnected @tbird93 as having been the OP in my mind last night, hence the response.
'isokay, happens to the best of us too.
Stancestans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts