Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

WVistaUlt32 NIC ethernet & wireless dont work

This is a discussion on WVistaUlt32 NIC ethernet & wireless dont work within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Johnwill and team. Thank you in advance for all your help. I looked for solutions to my problems but


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2009, 11:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Yorugua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 32



Hi Johnwill and team. Thank you in advance for all your help.

I looked for solutions to my problems but couldn't find any that dealt with the exact NVIDIA networking controller card problems running same OS.

Since Vista does auto WinUpdates, I think this computer is up-to-date.
After performing some updates last week, the ethernet connection stopped working, the wireless hadn't work for a while don't why though.
The USB connection direct to the modem still works. Thank God!

Talking first with HPsupport, he said to check DeviceManager, Networking Adapters, two adapters had errors. A 64TO had a warning sign, NVIDIA nForce networking controller showed a pointing down arrow. He said to Uninstall them both, after a couple of tries, the 64TO never showed back again, the NVIDIA shows now with a #2 added at the end of its name. However that didnt make the ethernet connection work. He said "NIC is probably gone bad, it should be replaced".
Since I have VoIP, I called Vonage support. I had a Linksys WRTP54G, after checking various things he said that my router was the problem, so he sent a new one (no chage). New router D-LINK VWR.
I installed the new router following all instructions, but everything remained the same "Unidentified Network" Access: Local Only.
A wireless laptop running XP, a wireless printer, wired PS3 connect to either router, they all work perfectly fine. So I gather the problem is with this computer, not having the proper adapters. Please help me fix the ethernet connection, since I prefer to be connected to my home network and have access to everything using this type of connection.

The following info, as per your request for a new post:

ISP WOWWAY
Modem Scientific Atlanta WebSTAR 2000 series
Router D-LINK VWR Ver1 wire & wireless Encryption WEP
WinVistaUltimate 32 [Version 6.0.6000]
Browsers IE7, Firefox

The attachemnts are:
(1) using ethenet cable connection to the router (green light)
(2) using USB connection direct to the modem, ethernet cable still connected the the ethernet port on the router (green light)

I hope I gave you all the info necessary to make a diagnosis, if anything else is needed please just ask for it.
Thank you again for all you guys do.
Attached Files
File Type: txt VistaU32-without-connecting.txt (1.9 KB, 16 views)
File Type: txt VistaU32-withUSBdirect2modem-conn.txt (3.8 KB, 8 views)
Yorugua is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2009, 12:13 PM   #2
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
johnwill is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 06:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Yorugua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 32



Hi Johnwill. Thank you for answering to my question.
Partial Success. After I did what you suggested, the ethernet connection is still not showing in the Network and Sharing Center. The good thing is that my wireless adapter showed up in Device Manager, Network Adapters and the wireless connection is now working.
What can I do next, so my ethernet will work? I attached a screenshot of the AdvProp to the Nvidia#2, something doesn't look right to me in there.

Searching through MS kb I found this - Article ID: 269155 - Last Review: April 7, 2009 - Revision: 4.0, the portion that I thought was relevant is attached.

Thank you again for your prompt help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NvidiaAdvProp.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	47428  
Attached Files
File Type: txt microsoft-fixup4ghost-networkadapter.txt (2.1 KB, 9 views)
Yorugua is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2009, 06:39 AM   #4
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Connect with the wired connection and disconnect the wireless connection.

Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output!

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts