Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Who wants to educate me on 10GB ethernet?

This is a discussion on Who wants to educate me on 10GB ethernet? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all! Quick bit of context - I am a Windows administrator recently given the task of upgrading a floor

Closed Thread

Old 05-12-2014, 08:04 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello all!

Quick bit of context - I am a Windows administrator recently given the task of upgrading a floor of my building's network to 10GB using minimal spend (and knowledge of networking hardware).

I purchased a 10GB Ethernet NIC for my Dell G5 Server with the hope that I could sling it in like any other NIC and be on my way.

However, the NIC does not have Ethernet ports but has slots available for 'Transceivers'.. This is where I am lost. Presumably I now need to purchase separately the transceivers, so should they be complete with Ethernet ports to then patch back to my switch (which is soon to be a shiny new 10GB Netgear piece) or some new fangled thing I'm yet to discover?

As you can probably tell I know next to nothing re networking hardware and cannot find a decent source of information on the matter.

Any help is much appreciated and any abuse to get correct information is welcomed to a certain level :-)

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-12-2014, 09:36 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team

What's the make/model of that 10 GB NIC?
Old 05-12-2014, 09:42 AM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team

Are you sure you got the right NIC?

Dell Broadcom Dual Port 10GBASE-T 10 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe Network Interface Card : Networking | Dell

Old 05-12-2014, 09:52 AM   #4
Registered Member

No, no I'm not!

I spoke to our hardware supplier, gave them the server spec and they sent me a "HP NC522SFP Dual Port 10GBE Server Adapter"

HP NC522SFP DUAL PORT 10GbE NIC Network Card 468332-B21 468349-001 397740-001