Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

utp next to power cable

This is a discussion on utp next to power cable within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Good morning everybody I need to install an utp cable next to house's main power cable, distance is about 40


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2013, 01:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
OS: win 7



Good morning everybody

I need to install an utp cable next to house's main power cable, distance is about 40 metres. Unfortunately ther is no other way, the utp must go in parallel with the main power and next to it. I canot put it further. I think that it is possible if the utp is sieled. Maybe stp cat6a.
Any ideas?
P.S. Sorry for my english.
manolis1057 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2013, 02:41 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


Your best bet would be to go with the STP cable, it is more resistant to EMI / RFI. The big question is; is STP shielded enough for a 40 meter run parallel to the power line? Have you thought about Fiber?

Are you planning on terminating the Cat6A yourself ? because terminating STP cable can be a pain, making sure the shielding is correctly terminated. If it isn't it can act as a 'antenna' basically, and you could be worse off then if you installed UTP.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 02:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
OS: win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by alpenadiver View Post
Your best bet would be to go with the STP cable, it is more resistant to EMI / RFI.

Are you planning on terminating the Cat6A yourself ? because terminating STP cable can be a pain, making sure the shielding is correctly terminated. If it isn't it can act as a 'antenna' basically, and you could be worse off then if you installed UTP.
Thank you very much for the quik reply.
I will go for the stp cat6A and i hope that it will work.
I will post the results.
Thanks again.
manolis1057 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2013, 08:36 AM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Understand STP cable has a ground that needs to be grounded or the shielding doesn't work.
How to Terminate the Cat 6A, 10G, SHIELDED 10-Gigabit Keystone Jack by Quick-Cat™ Leading 10G
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 08:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
OS: win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
Understand STP cable has a ground that needs to be grounded or the shielding doesn't work.
How to Terminate the Cat 6A, 10G, SHIELDED 10-Gigabit Keystone Jack by Quick-Cat™ Leading 10G
Yes, i know, thanks. I also know that it has to be ground in one edge only. Not in both. Is that correct;
manolis1057 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 09:10 AM   #6
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Not quite. You would only ground one end if your grounding was between two different power grids/breaker boxes. You wouldn't want a discrepancy between these grounds being used by your cable. If the cable is grounded to the same grounded system then do it at both ends.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] PC suts down bu wont power off, and then hardly power on and than get stuck
Hi people, im new here. Sorry my bad english, i am from Brasil. My problem is that when i try to turn off my computer the windows shuts down the screen gets black, but it stays power on with the lights and cooler still working. So i have to turn off by unplugin the pc cable or turning off the...
Filipicamo Other Hardware Support 10 04-21-2013 08:02 PM
Cd drive opens with power cable but when ide cable put in it will not open
when i plug in my cd drive with just the power cable it opens and the lights go on but when i put in the power cable with the ide cable it dosent work at all no lights no nothing can some one help me please????
anthonycampo Other Hardware Support 1 12-27-2011 02:19 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless Interent only works when power cable NOT plugged in.
My wireless internet on my Acer Aspire 5050-3465 laptop will only work if the power cord is NOT plugged in to the computer. As soon as I plug it in, the internet disconnects and no wireless networks are in range. How can I fix this so that I can keep my laptop plugged in?
residentevilfan Laptop Support 3 11-06-2011 11:02 AM
Can this power supply be saved?
Hi guys/gals, To start, earlier this afternoon a lightening bolt struck across the street from my house and fried a bunch of my beloved electronics. My desktop's power supply was one of the many things that got jacked during said horrid event. My computer boots, loads windows, and has video...
jolster1 RAM and Power Supply Support 2 07-10-2011 06:05 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts