Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Upgrading N Dual band 7260 to AC dual band 7260 in Dell Inspiron 7000 series

This is a discussion on Upgrading N Dual band 7260 to AC dual band 7260 in Dell Inspiron 7000 series within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. I want to upgrade my Dell laptop's Intel Dual band wireless n 7260 wifi card to the Wireless-AC dual


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2014, 06:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Hi. I want to upgrade my Dell laptop's Intel Dual band wireless n 7260 wifi card to the Wireless-AC dual band 7260. I was going to buy it off ebay Intel Network 7260 HMWG Wifi Wireless AC 7260 H T Dual Band 2x2 AC Bluetooth | eBay


but I didn't know if it was compatible with my laptop. (Ie does Dell whitelist the network cards in the BIOS like bloody HP does?)

The laptop is this one Dell Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - Black (Intel Core i7-4500U / 1TB HDD / 16GB RAM / Windows 8) : Laptops - Best Buy Canada


Thanks
jackthecompguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2014, 11:18 AM   #2
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Integrated Wi-Fi usually means its on the mainboard and not as a add in card.

Might want to talk to Dell technical or presales support about if a upgrade is possible.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 05-29-2014, 06:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Yes but if i ask dell they will probably tell me i need to buy the same card I can get off ebay for $30 from them for $100 !! And really its soldered on? I thought the whole mess with bios whitelisting in the network cards was because the network cards are able to be changed out... Otherwise whats the point if they arent changeable?
jackthecompguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2014, 08:07 AM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



You are thinking pcs not laptops and tablets. Open one up sometime and you will see.

The point of talking to Dell was to confirm or deny the ability to change the card.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 05-30-2014, 08:37 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,196
OS: win 10 Home



See pages 43 to 36 here ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-produ...nual_en-us.pdf
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-30-2014, 09:10 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post

Thanks that works. Although the manual depicted is for a laptop with a removable battery, which mine does not have. Its literally brand new about a month old.
jackthecompguy is offline  
Old 05-30-2014, 09:43 AM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,196
OS: win 10 Home



If you go to the dell site and put in your details it should let you get the manual for your model,I did not check but you can often get a parts list to.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-31-2014, 07:47 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Yep on that. Gotta switch off and get the product tag and whatnot from the bottom
jackthecompguy is offline  
Old 05-31-2014, 08:05 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Well, not contacting dell. They want me to pay for live chat and/or calling in. Haha yeah no. Going to find the manual on the dell site and see what that says
jackthecompguy is offline  
Old 06-04-2014, 09:23 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


I cant see an issue, it is an add in card using the M2 specification connector.
Downloading the newest driver should have it install.
Details from Intel on the original Wireless card: Intel® Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 with Bluetooth*: Product Brief
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 07:37 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
I cant see an issue, it is an add in card using the M2 specification connector.
Downloading the newest driver should have it install.
Details from Intel on the original Wireless card: Intel® Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 with Bluetooth*: Product Brief
Thanks
jackthecompguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use a Dell Inspiron 6000 adapter on a hp g4 series laptop?
My brother's dog chewed through my computer cord today and I really can't afford to fix it right now, will substituting an old dell cord and adapter hurt my motherboard, etc. My computer's adapter is 65 W, input:100-240 V, output: 18.5V (3.5 A). The dell adapter is 65 W, input: 100-240 V, output:...
megan7n Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 11-01-2012 06:15 AM
Dell inspiron 15R vs Sony Vaio
I am stuck between two laptops: the Dell Inspiron 15R and the Sony Vaio. Specs: Dell Inspiron Inspiron 15R $649.99 $649.99 2nd generation Intel Core i5-2410M processor 2.30 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 2.90 GHz
Jtsou Laptop Support 1 07-10-2011 06:40 PM
BSOD and viruses i need help please
First off I wanna thank anyone and everyone who helps. I am new to this and realize you do it not because you have to, but because you want to help, so thankyou. Before attaching these zip files I will try my best to describe everything that is happening. OS: Windows 7 I Believe its 64 bit but...
cims10fau BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-21-2011 04:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts