Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Straight thru or Cross over cable

This is a discussion on Straight thru or Cross over cable within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, I have a query regarding Cisco which has confused me. Is cisco router ethernet port is connected to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2013, 01:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Vista SP2



Hi guys, I have a query regarding Cisco which has confused me.
Is cisco router ethernet port is connected to PC thru cross-over cable or straight thru ? I have seen packet tracer videos, in some a PC is connected via cross-over cable and some with straight.
Which one is correct method ? I know router is connected thru console cable but my confusion is related to above query.
Please help me out. Thanks
asteroid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2013, 01:17 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



Straight through, xovers are used to connect 2 PC's without a router/switch in the circuit.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-28-2013, 01:46 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: US
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



It also depends on the computer or hardware too. If you have hardware that supports Auto-MDIX, a straight-through cable can be used without needing a crossover cable. Some of the newer Apple computers don't require a crossover.

Interface and Hardware Component Configuration Guide, Cisco IOS XE Release 3SE (Catalyst 3850 Switches) - Configuring Auto-MDIX* [Cisco Catalyst 3850 Series Switches] - Cisco Systems]

Apple products that require an Ethernet crossover cable
ecross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2013, 02:36 PM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



and visa versa a xover will be auto corrected to be a straight.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 10-03-2013, 03:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Vista SP2



Thank you guys for clarifications. Now I have some more questions related to same topic.
Can I connect 2 cisco routers to each other thru crossover cable instead of serial ? when do we require to connect routers to each other via xover eathernet and serial.????
sorry if some of you take my questions as silly/rubbish, I am in a process of learning and do get these kind of questions in mind and thats why looking for answers from experts like you guys.

Thanks

asteroid is offline  
Old 10-04-2013, 11:01 AM   #6
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



cable is unimportant. If the Telco is serial you need a serial connection which will require a serial cable. Cables don't matter unless its the Cisco management cable which has a special pinout for Cisco.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet Cable Mix n' Match
So I'll just explaining this as quick as possible, and the frustration it brings me. I just brought my computer back to the family home for the summer. Say I have Ethernet Cable A (3 ft.) and Ethernet Cable B (100 ft.) Mom's Computer: Recognizes Ethernet Cable A and both B and provides...
MisterYu Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 06-29-2013 05:16 PM
Computer shuts off within 5-15 minutes after network cable is connected.
Here are the computer specs of the computer in question: Ultimate SP1 64-bit Xion 600W PSU XON-600F14R-201 Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Motheroboard nVIDIA nForce 590 SLI Chipset BIOS Revision 1402 NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+ 3.15 (15 x 210 FSB) Muskin 4GB (2 x...
Stealth3si BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 01-06-2013 07:19 AM
Cable modem - max cable length?
I'm going to be making the switch from DSL to cable internet and have a few questions. We get basic cable already from the local big name provider. That cable goes to the TV in the main floor living room. Ideally I would like to have the cable modem in the upstairs office location - would...
andylogan Cabling and Network Cards 1 06-20-2011 12:09 PM
Another cable connected but no internet access problem.
OK, Ive read several forums on this issue and nothing is working. I have plugged my computer into the modem by way of a Ethernet cable and I immediately got a Local Area Network 2 icon that said a network cable is unplugged. Ive checked the cable with this PC, and it works. i tried this:...
publiccovert Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 14 03-08-2011 09:00 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts