Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Win 2000 Pro won't wirelessly connect to Linksys Router

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Win 2000 Pro won't wirelessly connect to Linksys Router within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a dsl modem attached into my Linksys Wireless G 2.4 Ghz router. The router is then wired into


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2009, 05:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I have a dsl modem attached into my Linksys Wireless G 2.4 Ghz router. The router is then wired into my Systemax PC and runs XP SP3. I tried to connect a PC running 2000 Pro SP 2 with a Dlink Wireless G Desktop Card and can't access the internet. The Dlink connects to the router but Internet Explorer won't access the internet. The connection properties shows a few hundred packets sent but none received. IE says its not connected to the internet. When I tell it to Try Again, it detects proxy settings and then tries to connect to 192.168.2.1 and the blue progress bar moves about 1/4 inch and then IE brings up the can't find server page. I do have wireless enabled on the router.
On the Dlink connection, under TCP/IP properties, I tried entering the ip, subnet, gateway, and dns1 settings and also into IE but to no avail. I want to access the internet now and maybe share files later.

Any Ideas?

Mark
Elwood Blues is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2009, 08:28 AM   #2
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.


  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 03:12 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



Sorry for the delay. I've been busy as of late. I'll get that information shortly.

Mark
Elwood Blues is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2009, 07:06 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I can connect with a Cat5 but not wirelessly. I tried disabling encryption but to no avail. My other pc is wired to the router; However, several family members have used laptops to wirelessly connect with encryption successfully.

Thanks for your help. Mark

Specs are as follows.
IE error message follows as well.
I will try to send the command line messages later.


Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider). Verizon
Make and exact model of the broadband modem. Westell C90-610015-06 E
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router. Linksys WRT54G v5
Connection type:Wireless
If wireless, encryption used. WEP
Version and patch of Windows on all affected machines. Win 2000 PRO SP2
The Internet Browser in use: IE and Firefox.

IE Error:
The page cannot be displayed The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

Please try the following:
Click the Refresh button, or try again later.
If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.
To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
If your Network Administrator has enabled it, Microsoft Windows can examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings.
If you would like Windows to try and discover them,
click <javascript:doNetDetect()> Detect Network Settings <javascript:doNetDetect()>
Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed.
If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
Click the <javascript:history.back(1)> Back <javascript:history.back(1)> button to try another link.
Cannot find server or DNS Error
Internet Explorer
Elwood Blues is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:36 AM   #5
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Why are you running Windows 2000 at SP2?
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:24 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I'm running Win 2000 Pro at SP2 because its a machine I got when my company upgraded.

Mark
Elwood Blues is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:26 AM   #7
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Try this Automated WINSOCK Fix all Windows Versions.


I'd like to see this after you reboot following the WINSOCK fix, and please have the cable connected to a working port on the router.


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 12:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I ran the LPS fix and it didn't change anything (four 0'd were in the final box of renumbering, removing, etc). I restarted hooked up the cable and typed ipconfig /all. The result is below. I then switched back to the non-working wireless and ran ipconfig /all again and the result is at the bottom.

Mark

Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
(C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.

C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CARINO-5
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : Carino.local
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Carino.local
myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-47-C8-45-F5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 21, 2009 3:02:19
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 22, 2009 3:02:19 PM

C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CARINO-5
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : Carino.local
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Carino.local

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G510 Wireless P
CI Adapter(rev.B)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-95-BD-36-DA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.46
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Elwood Blues is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:51 AM   #9
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



You have DHCP disabled on the wireless connection.

Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.
  • Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Local Area Connection Status window.
  • Click the Properties button to open the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  • Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
  • Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
  • TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
  • Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
  • Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
  • Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  • Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 02:27 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I tried your directions and it still didn't work. I had tried this initially and, when it didn't work, I tried entering numbers.
After completing your instructions, I tried opening the google.com site and got the following error. I then ran ipconfig /all and got the following message.

Mark


Address Not Found


Firefox can't find the server at www.google.com.


The browser could not find the host server for the provided address.

* Did you make a mistake when typing the domain? (e.g. "ww.mozilla.org" instead of "www.mozilla.org")
* Are you certain this domain address exists? Its registration may have expired.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check your network connection and DNS server settings.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.


Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
(C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.

C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CARINO-5
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . : Carino.local
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G510 Wireless P
CI Adapter(rev.B)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-95-BD-36-DA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.72.214
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :

C:\>
Elwood Blues is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 06:29 AM   #11
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Your wireless adapter is not connecting to the router. Have you disabled ALL encryption and MAC filtering on the wireless router to see if you can connect that way?
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 08:31 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I finally got connected without encryption. I wasn't using MAC filtering to begin with. I turned off encryption and then found a setting for my wireless card for auto detect. That let me connect. However, when I try to add encryption, it drops. Any suggestions?

Mark
Elwood Blues is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 08:16 AM   #13
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Your adapter may only recognize WEP encryption, and use ONLY the hex keys, don't use the passphrase option for the WEP key.
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:47 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
OS: winxp



I appreciate the help. It is working now. I removed the passphrase and retyped the hex keys (even though I don't think they changed). I reread the help screen on my router and it said to use the passphrase if only Linksys equipment was being used. Thanks for all your help. I'm wireless with encryption now.

Mark
Elwood Blues is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 08:51 AM   #15
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Thanks for the feedback, glad it's all working.
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts