Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Wifi router do not detect LAN cable with increased length

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Wifi router do not detect LAN cable with increased length within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have WR720N TP link router. When I connect straight LAN cable of 1 meter from ISP modem to Routers


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2013, 01:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7


Arrow

I have WR720N TP link router. When I connect straight LAN cable of 1 meter from ISP modem to Routers WAN port, Wifi works perfectly.

When I increase length of the cable to 20 meters, router does not detect the cable. When I connect same cable to PC, internet work fine.

Edited:
I simplified the question so that, I could explain it easily. I now think I shouldn't have done that. Let me explain it fully.

I have two wifi Routers. D-Link DIR-600L and TP Link WR720N. I connect D-Link to Modem. TP link is connected to D link with LAN cable. When I use SHorter length cable everything works fine. SO, no configuration issue, I think.

When I use longer length cable TP link do not detect the cable. If I connect that long cable to my PC directly it works fine with 2 mbps internet.

What I could conclude from long internet searching, is that ;

It might not detect because of Half or Full duplex configuration of LAN ports in different routers.

Connection:
Modem LAN >>> D Link WAN >>> D link LAN 1 >>> TP Link WAN >>> wireless
(WAN configuration may not be ideal, but in my defence, it works with short length)
hitesh7k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2013, 02:14 PM   #2
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Welcome to TSF!

Is this long cable a store bought cable or home made?

A cable has no affect on wifi. You will always be able to connect to the routers wifi. The only question is if you get internet or not.

Since it appears you don't get internet with the long cable it is most likely a defective cable.

If you are using two routers in series as you are you should follow this setup
Connecting Additional Routers | Tech Support Forum

According to the WR720N TP link routers manual it only supports 10/100 on both the wan and lan ports. The same is true for the Dlink. They both support mdi/mdix and auto negotiation.

Everything points to the long cable as being the problem
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 03:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7



Thanks for reply

It wasn't Defective cable as it was working with PC. I found solution anyways... I used cross cable and every thing is working fine.

This also might be because first straight cable was not properly crimped. but Cross cable is working good for me.
hitesh7k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2013, 09:15 AM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



both routers are mdi/mdix enabled so whether straight or cross both will work. Looks like you finally got a good cable.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD - Display Driver Timed Out
OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Windows 7 x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? x64 What was original installed OS on system? Windows XP Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? Full retail version Age of system (hardware) 3 years,
debiebrett BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 11-03-2012 02:19 PM
BSOD - dxgkrnl.sys
Hi guys. So, I had few BSOD's and they happened right after I played some DiRT3 on my LCD TV. After I moved the computer on his old spot, with my usual monitor the problem started. It didn't want to start, I heard that normal beep but nothing, the monitor says "No signal" and goes to stand-by...
freestyle120 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 09-26-2012 01:31 PM
BSOD
Ok i have had several issue with BSOD the first time it happened i was told my wingman commander software was to blame. I updated and still had issues, found a post about zboard and Wingman not getting along removed zboard no issues lately. Til recently updated nvidia drivers (9-13-2012) and...
Felony44 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 09-22-2012 01:01 PM
Laptop won't detect ethernet cable from router
hi, i have a DSL connection which is established using a dial-up (PPPoE) modem. I recently bought a wifi router, and I found that when I plug the cable to one of the LAN ports and the laptop, it seems as if it wasn't connected at all (not detected on either side). I tried to format the system...
thehun Networking Support 8 02-24-2011 03:54 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts