Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

[SOLVED] IE is not accessing the internet

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] IE is not accessing the internet within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am running a Win7 and I am connected to a public Wi-Fi all the programs accessing the internet just


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2014, 05:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

I am running a Win7 and I am connected to a public Wi-Fi all the programs accessing the internet just fine but my IE is not connecting
I have one more laptop running WinXp connected to the same Wi-Fi and is working fine
inventor1949 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2014, 05:18 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Click on Tools > Internet Options > Connections tab and see if it is using a proxy
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-14-2014, 05:26 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

No is not using proxy........... thanks
inventor1949 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2014, 05:29 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

First:


Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.

How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7

Then:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type or copy and paste the following command:

ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0

and press enter.

Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

then please Download and run this Xirrus WiFi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here. For Vista and Windows 7, 8 you can use the Windows Snipping Tool
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-14-2014, 05:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : NewBear1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-1D-26-EB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-1D-26-EB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6c4f:49e5:251d:4f23%20(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.255.181.12(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 14, 2014 5:38:14 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 14, 2014 5:43:14 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.255.180.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.255.180.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 385882770
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-DB-2E-B0-00-18-8B-AF-78-44
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.255.180.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-8B-AF-78-44
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.nomadisp:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-14-2014, 06:15 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

One problem with the Wi Fi inspector picture is like giving you and the world my physical/home address if their is anything in there you are looking for maybe I can pass it on to you another way?
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-14-2014, 06:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Maybe this will work..... thanks mike

usually connected to -35
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wi fi inspector.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	119.3 KB
ID:	169761  
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-14-2014, 07:24 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Quote:
Originally Posted by inventor1949 View Post
One problem with the Wi Fi inspector picture is like giving you and the world my physical/home address if their is anything in there you are looking for maybe I can pass it on to you another way?
Admin please delete this post I provided the requires file in the ubove post

Thanks ...mike
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 05:39 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



There is nothing in the reports that relates to our private information . .

Most of the accesspoints in the Xirrus report are on the same channel ( 5 ) . . can't tell which is yours, but try setting yours to channel 1 or 11
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 07:40 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
There is nothing in the reports that relates to our private information . .

Most of the accesspoints in the Xirrus report are on the same channel ( 5 ) . . can't tell which is yours, but try setting yours to channel 1 or 11
Yes the Wi-Fi I am using is on channel 5, how do i gonfiger my card to be in that channel?
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 08:00 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,187
OS: win 10 Home



Not your wifi card your router
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 09:10 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Not your wifi card your router
I don't have a router I am connecting my laptop wirelessly in to a public Wi-Fi
Am I missing something
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 09:20 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type or Copy and Paste the following" and press enter


echo > 0 & PING 10.255.180.11 >> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert Google >> 0 & echo >> 0 & notepad 0


That can take a few minutes to complete, come back and past the result in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:16 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

here you go Rich this is with the goog Winxp laptop with good working IE



ECHO is on.


Pinging 10.255.180.11 with 32 bytes of data:



Request timed out.

Request timed out.

Request timed out.

Request timed out.



Ping statistics for 10.255.180.11:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),



Pinging 46.228.47.115 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=239ms TTL=52

Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=237ms TTL=52

Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=357ms TTL=52

Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=259ms TTL=52



Ping statistics for 46.228.47.115:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 237ms, Maximum = 357ms, Average = 273ms



Pinging google.com [74.125.224.98] with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 74.125.224.98: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=54

Reply from 74.125.224.98: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=54

Reply from 74.125.224.98: bytes=32 time=97ms TTL=54

Reply from 74.125.224.98: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=54



Ping statistics for 74.125.224.98:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 80ms, Maximum = 97ms, Average = 89ms

Unable to resolve target system name Google.

ECHO is on.
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:21 AM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Need to run those commands on the one that cannot access the internet . . use a flash drive to transfer the results to one that does

Sorry, a typo on the first ping . . it should be to 10.255.180.1
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:22 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

And this is with the laptop in question connected

ECHO is on.

Pinging 10.255.180.11 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 10.255.180.11:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

Pinging 46.228.47.115 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=1666ms TTL=51
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=1529ms TTL=51
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=1539ms TTL=51
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=1730ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 46.228.47.115:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1529ms, Maximum = 1730ms, Average = 1616ms

Pinging google.com [74.125.224.39] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.224.39: bytes=32 time=969ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.224.39: bytes=32 time=718ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.224.39: bytes=32 time=995ms TTL=55
Reply from 74.125.224.39: bytes=32 time=1159ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 74.125.224.39:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 718ms, Maximum = 1159ms, Average = 960ms
Unable to resolve target system name Google.
ECHO is on.
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:28 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Ok i will do it again
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:34 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
inventor1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 91
OS: WinXp / Win7


Send a message via Skype™ to inventor1949

Here you go Rich

---------------------

ECHO is on.

Pinging 10.255.180.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.255.180.1: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.255.180.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.255.180.1: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.255.180.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.255.180.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 73ms, Average = 25ms

Pinging 46.228.47.115 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=249ms TTL=52
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=237ms TTL=52
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=244ms TTL=52
Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=244ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 46.228.47.115:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 237ms, Maximum = 249ms, Average = 243ms

Pinging google.com [74.125.224.103] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.224.103: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.224.103: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.224.103: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.224.103: bytes=32 time=627ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 74.125.224.103:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 86ms, Maximum = 627ms, Average = 233ms
Unable to resolve target system name Google.
ECHO is on.
inventor1949 is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:35 AM   #19
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Strange that it pings google, but then cannot trace the routing . . Try changing the DNS servers to Google's open dns . .

How to Switch to OpenDNS or Google DNS to Speed Up Web Browsing
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-15-2014, 10:42 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Grmlins in my command . . let's start over:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type or Copy and Paste the following" and press enter


echo > 0 & PING 10.255.180.1 >> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert Google >> 0 & echo >> 0 & notepad 0


That can take a few minutes to complete, come back and past the result in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luhe.Sire.A infection
I tried to download both programs you advice to download and run, but each time I tried the pc wouldn't allow the download or even to run them direct...A pop up window said 'Item cannot be downloaded as it contained a virus'. when clicking on a tab within the message which said "Learn More" a...
Aw-Naw Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-06-2013 01:37 AM
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 08:33 PM
Probable rootkit virus
Hi there,I have followed the instructions for initial posting and my biggest issue is 'website cannot be displayed' messages when going to various websites (i.e., Outlook mail webpages always work, Google search result pages rarely do, youtube links never works). I have attached the DDS.txt and...
Rivenspur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 55 06-19-2012 02:26 PM
Start menu programs gone, Icons, files and folders hidden, random audio, IE redirect
Last night, I was surfing the net. Suddenly audio started playing on my speakers, and desktop icons started disappearing. Then I got a notice like "your IDE/SATA drive has failed....." i hit control+alt+delete, and it said task manager has been disabled by the administrator, which, or course is me...
ynpguy Resolved HJT Threads 16 04-02-2011 09:23 PM
[SOLVED] Error Code: C00D1197 OR 0xC00D1197
Hello ....don't know if this is right forum I listen to a online football station for my home team. Just recently it has stopped working in IE 8 32 bit. I can log in but can't play any content in the windows media player it uses. However it will work in IE 64 bit and Firefox browsers...I...
REMA1 Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 11 03-20-2011 09:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts