Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Driver for Network Controller?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Driver for Network Controller? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I have a yellow exclamation mark against 'Network Controller' in Device Manager and I cannot see my TP-Link (wireless)


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2014, 09:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 183
OS: xp



Hello

I have a yellow exclamation mark against 'Network Controller' in Device Manager and I cannot see my TP-Link (wireless) network card under Network Adapters although I can see the Configuration Utility and drivers for TP-Link under 'Programs' in my Control Panel.

Consequently, I am unable to connect to the Internet - my PC crashed last night and I have only just managed to recover Windows 7 although I have lost many files and programs.

My PC is a Packard Bell 64-bit imedia S1800. I have browsed the Packard Bell Website but I am not sure I would be downloading/installing the appropriate Network Controller driver(s) if, indeed, that lies at the root of the problem.

Thanks for any advice.

Postman
_postman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2014, 10:29 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Did the pc come with the wireless card or did you add it? If the pc came with the card, the driver should be available from their support

Please post a screenshot of Device Manager . . see the link in my signature for how.

How do I get into Windows Device Manager?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 10:35 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 183
OS: xp



I added it at a later date.

Please find screenshot attached.

Thanks again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DeviceManager.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	90.3 KB
ID:	191281  
_postman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2014, 10:38 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by _postman View Post
I added it at a later date.

Thanks again
You can either use the installation CD that came with it, or download the driver from the manufacturers support site . . downloading it would insure you have the newest one
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 10:52 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 183
OS: xp



OK, thanks.

There was no Installation CD.

|If I go to the PB site, should I just look for Network Controller driver? Is that what's it's called?
_postman is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 11:31 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



You can put the serial number in here or check for the product code sticker Support Download
You should have a disc for the tp link which would have the driver for that.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 11:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 183
OS: xp



Hello Joeten

Back online! I opted for Windows to locate the driver from my PC and it couldn't find it. What I didn't realise was that I needed to specify the folder on the CD in order for it to be able to find it.

A local search of the PC, it seems, does not include the CD/DVD tray.

Now, I know!

Thank you again

Postman
_postman is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:02 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



Did you get the other driver sorted from the PB support pages.
Glad you got back online.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:27 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



What brand is the card?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 04:26 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 183
OS: xp



It's TP-Link.

I eventually found the drivers on a CD!

Thanks for your patience!
_postman is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 05:02 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Glad you worked thru it . .
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Direct3d not working
Hello, Suddenly today none of my games would launch and they would all give similar errors about d3d, direct3d not initializing. I have tried different versions of drivers as well as reinstalling directx. No clue what to do next, hoping anyone can help me. dxdiag
partyskulk Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 03-27-2013 11:10 AM
GT 240 1GB DDR3 - Driver Issue
Hello, I know this is probably the wrong section but I have a question for anyone who might be computer smart. I recently got a 1 G GeForce GT 240 DDR3 PCI-E 128-bit VGA DVI TV Graphics Card, and I'm having issues with it. I deleted my old 8600 gt graphic cards setting in the uninstall programs...
Gotmilkman Video Card Support 25 07-30-2012 04:15 PM
Overclocking i5 750 issues
So for about 2 weeks now I've been wanting to overclock my i5 750, but I keep having issues, when I follow overclocking guides I get a computer that will turn off and turn on, then turn off, then turn back on, and it repeats that, it never gets to the flash screen though. I've tried using Dummy OC...
Gotmilkman Overclocking 5 01-08-2012 02:39 AM
[System] Slows down to 13%-20% semi randomly.
Hello this is my first time posting on this forum. Problem: I'll run a program such as Stress Tests or CS:S and roughly within 15 minutes (give or take) I start to stutter and soon as I close the program CS:S I'll look at my processes and notice that system nt kernel is saying anywhere from...
X Myth BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 40 03-28-2011 01:53 AM
XP PRO no start when I push start button
I have recently formatted my primary hard drive and reloaded XP Pro. I then had issues with it wanting to start from the CD at one point but after a few reboots a second format / reinstall and numerous windows updates it seems to be working fine with the exception of ... if I turn the machine off...
cmorejava Motherboards, Bios & CPU 8 01-29-2011 10:51 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts