Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Router to Wall to POE to EAP

This is a discussion on Router to Wall to POE to EAP within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently ran some cabling through my super tight no-space attic from my office where the cable modem is to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2017, 05:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
OS: windows 10



I recently ran some cabling through my super tight no-space attic from my office where the cable modem is to the other end of my home. My plan was this:

Cable/modem/router > to wall jack > in a panel at the other end of my home I have a POE injector > to EAP. I was hoping I could use this method through straight line Ethernet wiring but I get no internet connectivity.

I troubleshot the wire confirming I get connectivity up until the injector. The POE does power up my EAP but I'm not getting connectivity. I have already configured the EAP and ensured it works. Do you think this could be a defective injector?
gldprspct is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2017, 08:16 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



What TIA standard did you use for the wiring pinouts at both ends? 568 A or B?

Power over Ethernet (POE) pinout diagram @ pinoutguide.com
GentleArrow is offline  
Old 11-02-2017, 08:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
OS: windows 10



I have set it up with the 568B pin out.. Since this is router to wall and then to injector (waiting for POE switch) then EAP does this need crossover? I get power just not transmit/receive
gldprspct is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2017, 01:19 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,148
OS: win7



Might want to test with stock short network cable from the router to see if that works.

I don't believe you need a crossover cable. Just always plugged in to network cable and it worked.
GentleArrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Trying to turn one router into a bridge
I'm hoping there is a straight forward enough answer to this. I need to use two routers to get internet connection in my house. The guy who set it up could see I was connected to the internet fine, so didn't bother changing my second router to a bridge, as it was the router I used to use in my...
BecBennett Networking Support 12 11-29-2015 04:34 AM
Struggling with my home network. Save my head from the wall please, I beg you!!
Oh my goodness. Well, this is my first post here, and hopefully I get a reply. I will try to be concise and yet descriptive. I am serious when I say you stand to save my poor head from multiple head on collisions with my livingroom wall. I am a savy tech hand, make my living in IT (not...
webejammin77 Networking Support 6 09-17-2015 10:32 AM
Zyxel router problem
I have problem with zyxel p-660hn-f1 , i don't know how to force it to use ethernet cable for internet and behave like dhcp client. i've changed internet provider from adsl to cable one, but new router (Ubee brand) doesn't have wireless connectivity, so i wanted new router to be only default...
juice99 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 5 08-23-2011 02:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts