Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Reformatted PC and Now Internet Won't Work.

This is a discussion on Reformatted PC and Now Internet Won't Work. within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, So its been about two years since I built my PC and figured it was time for a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2009, 07:22 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
OS:


Thumbs Down

Hey guys,

So its been about two years since I built my PC and figured it was time for a format. I made a 25GB partition on my HDD, formatted the rest and reinstalled my copy of Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit. I installed all the drivers that came with my motherboard, mouse & keyboard and my Linksys Wireless-N USN Network Adapter. Remember, this setup has worked flawlessly for the past 2 years. All of a sudden, I can't get the internet to work. If you hover over the network icon in the taskbar it always says (Identifying...). Even if it says its connected with full connectivity it's not working properly. I took a few screenshots to show you what happened when I ran the Diagnostics/Repair internet thing...

I clicked "Reset the network adapter..."


I clicked "Automatically get new IP..."


Then it said "Unable to resolve problem, contact network administrator."

Usually it says "Identifying network" but here it says "Unidentified network"


Any idea what's going on..?
Drunkship is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2009, 09:28 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
OS:



Well, I guess no one feels like helping, haha. I installed the latest Linksys driver just now and no luck there. I ran ipconfig /all so here's what that gave me...

Quote:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Bill>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KillBill
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-N USB Network Adapter WU
SB300N
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F8-AA-8E-00
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4e0:db13:929f:fca2%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 07, 2009 12:01:05 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 08, 2009 12:01:04 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167778552
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4D-82-13-29
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4AFA1F08-C696-4DFC-B585-A3A66753F
EF9}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{705BAB0B-6371-4B37-88DF-C4DCA1E02
F0C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Bill>
Drunkship is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:43 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Deroche BC. Canada
Posts: 573
OS: XP Pro sp 3

My System


Have you tried hooking the router up to the computer with a cable?

Have you confirmed in device manager that your net work adapter drivers are are properly installed?
Net Jockey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2009, 09:48 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Net Jockey View Post
Have you tried hooking the router up to the computer with a cable?

Have you confirmed in device manager that your net work adapter drivers are are properly installed?
The way my apartment is set up, running a cat5 from the router in the living room to my PC in my bedroom is impossible, trust me I tried. I rather have a wired connection any day of the week.

And yeah, they seem to be properly installed in the device manager.


Here's what happened when I pinged both a URL and an IP:

Quote:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Bill>ping bbc.co.uk

Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=250
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=250
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=250
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=250

Ping statistics for 212.58.224.138:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 93ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 94ms

C:\Users\Bill>ping 212.58.224.138

Pinging 212.58.224.138 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=250
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=250
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=250
Reply from 212.58.224.138: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=250

Ping statistics for 212.58.224.138:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 92ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 93ms

C:\Users\Bill>
Here's what happened when I typed "netsh int ip reset log.txt":

Quote:
C:\Users\Bill>netsh int ip reset log.txt
Reseting Echo Request, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Global, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Interface, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Unicast Address, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
Reseting Route, failed.
The requested operation requires elevation.
There's no user specified settings to be reset.


C:\Users\Bill>netsh winsock reset
The requested operation requires elevation.


C:\Users\Bill>
Drunkship is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:57 AM   #5
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Do the repair properly, follow the instructions EXACTLY.



TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 06:29 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
OS:



Hey man, that seems to have worked because I am typing from my PC right now! Let's see if it stays like that, haha. Mind asking what exactly those commands do?
Drunkship is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:17 AM   #7
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



The reset the TCP/IP stack and WINSOCK to installation defaults. 3rd party applications sometimes corrupt the LSP chain or other components.
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 07:58 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,099
OS: OS2 Warp



you need to be an admin to run netsh
bilbus is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:50 AM   #9
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbus View Post
you need to be an admin to run netsh
You seemed to have missed this line.
Quote:
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.
Perhaps you should actually read the my post before commenting.
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:03 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,099
OS: OS2 Warp



I was replying to drunkship .. not you.

Thanks
bilbus is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:08 AM   #11
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbus View Post
I was replying to drunkship .. not you.
Since he had successfully run the repair, what was the purpose of telling him what he must already know?
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:17 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,099
OS: OS2 Warp



Well, i did not see that post ... sheesh relax.

Wow you are an anoying one. Can you just ignore any posts made by me in the future .. thanks.
bilbus is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:15 PM   #13
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbus View Post
Well, i did not see that post ... sheesh relax.

Wow you are an anoying one. Can you just ignore any posts made by me in the future .. thanks.
Not really. Perhaps you should simply read more carefully, then I won't have occasion to correct you.
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts