Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Problem with USB Wireless 802.11 b/g Adaptor

This is a discussion on Problem with USB Wireless 802.11 b/g Adaptor within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So when I try to connect some devices to this network, device shows error that no conncetion is active, I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2008, 10:33 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
OS:



So when I try to connect some devices to this network, device shows error that no conncetion is active, I have noticed that my device cannot obtain DNS server adress....
Please help...
Forgot to meintion that my pc is HP Pavillion Elite m9065.sc
Sorry for my bad english...

Me is from Latvia.


i ment i'm from latvia :)
bakhu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2008, 11:12 AM   #2
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10



Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.


  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
johnwill is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 10:56 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
OS:



Hi John,

I am having the same problem:

I have an HP s3360.nl
Intel Pentium Dual CPU e2200 @2.2GHz 2.2 GHz
2GB RAM


Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
- UPC Nederland (Dutch ISP)
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
- Aris Touchstone Telephony Modem
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
- Linksys Dual-band Wireless-N Gigabit router WRT320N
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
- Wired works fine (both directly from modem into the PC and via the router)
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
- Currently WEP, but tried both WPA, WPA2 and no encryption

Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
- Home Premium SP1
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.
- FF 3.x or IE 7


Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.
- "View this thread: Wireless association failed beacause Windows did not receive any response from the wireless router or access point"

* If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
- Yes, works fine then
* For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
- Yes, tried it, did not work
* Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
- Yes, cable connection works in both cases
* If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?
- There is one more Vista Pro machine running fine and one old-ish XP that also can connect without problems

NB: I have been in the live-chat of linksys for hours and the people I spoke to are complete donks, plus I think it is an issue of the wireless card I am using...

Thanks a mil and apologies for my "bad quoting"

Nils
nifiction is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts