Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

PC can't detect modem

This is a discussion on PC can't detect modem within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My system specs My modem I moved my PC from one room to another and suddenly it couldn't find my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2015, 05:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 8.1



My system specs
My modem

I moved my PC from one room to another and suddenly it couldn't find my modem anymore. It was working in the first room on the same modem, connected to the same port. A second machine in the new room CAN connect to the same modem and internet just fine. A third machine can use the same ethernet chord and modem port as the first and connects just fine. Safe to say there's something wrong with machine 1. I re-installed Windows fresh, along with manually installing each motherboard driver and still no dice.

ipconfig/all returns:
Windows IP COnfiguration
  • Node Type: Hybrid
  • IP Routing Enabled: NO
  • WINS Proxy Enabled: NO
Ethernet adapter Ethernet
  • Media state: Media disconnected
  • Description: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
  • DHCP Enabled: YES
  • Autoconfiguration Enabled: YES

I didn't rattle the machine in the move. What on earth could have caused this machine to lose its ability to connect to a modem!?
Blapoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2015, 02:03 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


Without the complete ipconfig output (including the IP Address), I would try a
ipconfig /release then a ipconfig /renew
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 03-13-2015, 09:42 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


First and foremost, just an FYI. While it is likely a modem, if it has multiple ports for device connectivity and/or wifi, it is actually a modem/router combo. The modem side connects to your ISP, the router side connects to your devices.

Having said that, are you getting "link" light indicator when you plug in the cable? The "link" indicator is typically a green LED. When a computer is connected to the router, you should get a link indicator on the router port and on the computer NIC. If you aren't getting link, there is a hardware fault. If you have link, then it's likely a config issue on the PC.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Problems with staying on line with all Browsers
Hi all, I have a Compaq Microsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pk 3. I checked and it said I have 11.3 GB available. I have downloaded every single Browser, IE keeps saying low on memory, no memory at line 1, 10, 22 etc. freezes up on me & boots me off line.The rest of them seem to all say:...
JoJo62 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 14 06-19-2013 07:43 AM
Sending of faxes has stopped working--WinXP--Agere modem
My Agere PCI SV992pp, driver: 2.1.65.0, modem will no longer completes the sending of faxes. I have a few software programs (MightyFax, FaxTalk, and the Win XP fax software), but my faxes do not get sent with any of them! Here's what happens with EACH of the faxing software: the status...
pinken0rangegal Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 04-22-2013 08:07 AM
Router and Modem does not work together in Vista
Is this a wired or wireless connection issue? Wireless How to run and post an ipconfig /all output of the computer(s) in question for review. Please follow and click the Tutorial here. Pasted at the end of the thread Who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP)? India - BSNL
AurobindoSaha Networking Support 7 02-07-2013 05:33 AM
Takes a while to connect to modem
Hey all, Whether I connect to the cable modem through wireless or wired connection, it takes about 5-10 minutes for me to get internet connectivity. My roommate is experiencing the same issue through the same network with his laptop. The windows diagnostic gives me an error message of "The DNS...
mchen Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 11-27-2011 10:20 PM
Modem looses it settings
I have two modems connected to a firewall and the firewall connected to a switch. The modems are Billion Bipac 5112s and Innacom W3100 (both are ISP issued modems). The firewall is a fortigate 80C while the switch is a dlink 5 port switch. I use it for guest wifi in a hotel About 1 month ago, my...
jarod Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 06-16-2011 07:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts