Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

optical fibre testing

This is a discussion on optical fibre testing within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there; I am new in the filed of optical fiber networks; having said that I have to test a

Closed Thread

Old 04-10-2015, 02:17 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi there;

I am new in the filed of optical fiber networks; having said that I have to test a link using OTDR as well as OPTICAL POWER METER make GW3200A.
On its light source (make GW3100C) it shows the Frequency as expected but on the power meter the out put is in dBm.

Now my question is:
1. How do I know what frequency must i set my light source to and how do i know my out put are relative / corresponds to the initial light power form the source?
I cannot find the device usage information online.

Please assist in those regards
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2015, 03:59 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech

OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System

The most common fiber wavelengths are 850nm, 1300nm.
A lot of fiber knowledge here
Fiber Optics Association website; The Fiber Optic Association - Reference Guide To Fiber Optics - Table of Contents

Here is a link for calculating fiber "Loss Budgets"
Calculating Fiber Optic Loss Budgets

As for your specific equipment, look through the owners manual.

CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
Closed Thread

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to upgrade existing system to Optical Wiring?