Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Newbie - How to fix wired internet connection problems?

This is a discussion on Newbie - How to fix wired internet connection problems? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys I would really be grateful if any of you could help me with the following problem. I'm sorry

Closed Thread

Old 09-08-2013, 04:12 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi guys I would really be grateful if any of you could help me with the following problem. I'm sorry if I've asked this in the wrong section.

I am a UK student living in student halls in France. I arrived a week and a half ago and I've had problems with the internet ever since I arrived. The connection here is via an ethernet cable.

When I arrived I had no internet but the welcome office assured me this was due to routine maintenance and the internet would be working the day after. My internet never started working so after a couple of days I went back and asked if I could try another cable. I tried this new cable but to no avail.

Therefore it seemed it was my computer that was the problem because everyone else in the building seemed to have a normal connection. To test this I invited a fellow student to plug the cable into their computer. As with me, their computer received no internet connection.

So I assumed it must be a problem with the connection in the room. I have called twice and the office has called on my behalf once to call out a technician but it is a voice-message service so I cannot be sure if anyone has received my problem/come to try to fix it.