Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Network Adapter does not seem to be working

This is a discussion on Network Adapter does not seem to be working within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just bought and installed Intel Gigabit CT PCI-E Network Adapter EXPI9301CTBLK in one of my computers and it does


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2013, 05:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
OS: Windows 7



I just bought and installed Intel Gigabit CT PCI-E Network Adapter EXPI9301CTBLK in one of my computers and it does not seem to be working.

Here is my current setup: I have a NAS with my music on it connected to a switch which I have connected my router to. I am running a line from that switch to a computer which I installed the above mentioned card. What I had wanted to do is connect another computer. When I did so I could not access the NAS from the last computer. When I just skip the Intel card and connect directly to the final computer all is well.

Can you help me solve this issue?

Thanks,
Mark
mjock3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2013, 10:36 PM   #2
2xg
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,454
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi Mark,

It might be helpful if you can provide us ipconfig/all from each computer, let's compare the IPs and subnet.
https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...nd-655357.html
2xg is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 09:08 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
OS: Windows 7



First is off the computer with both cards in it:
C:\Users\mark>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Junior
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Ethernet 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-05-CA-1A-2C-3B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c22:3e3e:66a7:1916%16(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.52(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 375915978
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-99-19-C4-00-30-18-A7-1C-4F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-DA-86-D9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6425:10f:e8c4:94c2%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.24(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 06, 2013 9:57:17 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 07, 2013 9:57:17 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 314355397
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-99-19-C4-00-30-18-A7-1C-4F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{C444B1D5-D3FC-4A94-97A4-BB3C90FD07DC}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{01AA3573-002A-4213-840F-20EB76A13726}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\mark>

None working computer:
Windows IP configuration
Host Name................ :WIN806358
Primary DNS Suffix..............:
Node Type...................:Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled............: no
WINS Proxy Enabled..........: no

Ethernet Adapter Ethernet

Connection specific DNS Suffix..:
Description...................: Intel (R) 829579V
Physical Address............:10-BF-48-7A-94-DC
DHCP Enabled................: no
Auto configuration enabled....: yes

Ipv4 Address........:192.168.1.52 preferred
Subnet Mask..........:255.255.255.0
Default Gateway ....: 192.168.1.1
NetBios over tcpip......: Enabled

Thanks,
Mark
mjock3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2013, 01:03 PM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Am I reading this right?

You want to go switch<>computer with 2 nics<> computer?

Why do you want to do this?
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 02:35 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
OS: Windows 7



Long story, help me get this working and I'll explain.
mjock3 is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 03:46 PM   #6
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7



Set the 2nd computer to use dhcp
Set the 2nd nic in computer1 to use dhcp
Engage ICS
You are done.

Windows 7 Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) - YouTube
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 05:21 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
OS: Windows 7



Well I finally got it running. Thanks for your help Wand3r3r. I was not able to get it that way, though I did say I would explain if you helped me.

I am running some high end computer audio using Jplay. It is a software that for whatever reason works to give you a cleaner musical presentation. And I wanted to set it up in dual pc mode. Where the first PC feeds the music to the second PC. For a better understanding of what is happening I would point anyone who has an interest in the best PC music possible to Jplay.eu , using Jplay along with Windows server 2012 and Audio Phil's scripts you can get the best possible sound available in the digital format.

Mark
mjock3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcom 802.11n wifi network adapter randomly gets limited connectivity and freezes
I'm having a really annoying problem which is making my laptop almost unusable and a hassle to use. After a while of my laptop being on, my wireless network adapter will suddenly get "limited connectivity", won't connect to the internet but will still get the router. Every single Xirrus test...
Madvillainh Networking Support 6 02-05-2015 01:49 PM
no audio after installing XP Pro SP3 to IBM T60
Sound worked fine before installing XP Pro SP3......after instal, no audio. No audio after installing XP Pro SP3 (from disc) on an IBM/Lenovo T60 ThinkPad. IBM/Lenovo drivers from Lenovo Support site for "Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus" are not recognized when trying to install...
Ray G Windows XP Support 19 11-20-2012 07:15 AM
Laptop wireless disconnects when wired is disconnected huh?
If I have the wired cable plugged in to my laptop1 the wireless connection works fine. If I disconnect that wired cable then the wireless connection disconnects as well. I can watch this happening when I have the connection dialogs open showing the connection wizard dialogs. The other...
m21_1 Networking Support 5 09-14-2012 10:05 PM
[SOLVED] Laptop can't view Home networks!
Hey guys, I'm trying to transfer filed from my laptop to my pc but I'm having problems. First of all both comps are running on windows 7 64 bit. Its weird because out of the 4 computers I have in the house, all of them can see each other EXCEPT my laptop, which cant be seen by any other computers,...
immortal111 Networking Support 18 11-29-2011 03:58 PM
[SOLVED] Internet (Browsing) only works in safe mode
Hi all, Yesterday I picked up a laptop of a friend of mine which had some problems with the Internet connectivity. Turns out, Internet only works when booted in Safe Mode, however, it does ping in Normal Mode so there is connectivity. Tried IE and Firefox, both do not work in Normal Mode and do...
swriezebos Networking Support 2 01-25-2011 07:49 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts