Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

User Tag List

Need help connecting my desktop.

This is a discussion on Need help connecting my desktop. within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I need help connecting my desktop (which is in my room) to my router (in my living room). I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2014, 11:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 103
OS: win7



Hi, I need help connecting my desktop (which is in my room) to my router (in my living room). I am considering a wireless adapter but idk if I'll get the great connection I had when I was using a wired Ethernet cord directly. I need the best way to connect with no problems ,because I stream my online games. Need the speed. Much thx
haw808 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2014, 02:11 AM   #2
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,801
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by haw808 View Post
but idk if I'll get the great connection I had when I was using a wired Ethernet cord directly.
No, you won't. Wired is always best, especially for gaming.

You can buy extra long ethernet cables. If theres any way at all to hard wire it, thats what I'd do.

If you decide to go wireless, I hear good reports about these HomePlug powerline networking adaptors buying advice - PC Advisor
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 01:51 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System


Deejay is right on here; however, another approach is to go with the new 802.11ac routers/wifi adapters. They have 6-10 times the speed and signal of previous g/n wireless, and in some tests rival a corded ethernet connection, if you are at 60-80% (3-4 bars). Recorded speeds of around 130MBPS are possible, which is still too slow for Gaming, but, if you have a fractional T1 line coming into your home like a friend of mine does, it might work..It's gonna cost you $200-$300 to try this, so if your strapped for cash, run the ethernet cables under the edge of your carpeting or up through the attic; you can probably buy those for under $75.

BIGBEARJEDI
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bsod at startup, many error codes
So, ive been getting bsods when i start my computer or when i come out of hibernation. It's weird though, after i get some in the beginning and restart my computer a few times, i will stop getting bsods until the next time i restart or come out of hibernation. OS - Vista x86 (32-bit) ...
JayXia BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 04-18-2013 09:25 PM
remote desktop not working from outside of network
So i'm trying to set up remote desktop connection for my desktop at (xp pro, sp2). I've went through all the steps: - allowed users to connect remotely (system properties) - added to firewall exceptions - opened up port 3389 I've disabled firewall and virus protection for now as well to...
dckster Networking Support 10 07-07-2012 10:27 AM
connect wireless laptop to desktop wired to router?
when i google, it tells me i have to use a cable to connect to a computer that is on a lan. my desktop is wired to my router. i want to connect my laptop wireless-ly. i know it can be done but i don't know how. how do i know it can be done? because i kept trying and trying and trying...
RyuB Networking Support 2 07-08-2011 03:54 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts